We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice small-scale hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Allure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Allure
Ranked #63 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice small-scale hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Nice 3-star hotel a little outside the city centre. It's about 30 mins walk from downtown with good public transport connections. The rooms are up to date and very clean, and the staff are helpful and friendly. The area is quiet residential.

I stayed in one of the downstairs rooms (22) which was rather stuffy in the summer.

One gripe, wireless internet is relatively expensive. It should be free in a small place like this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inner_city_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Manager at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We have been looking into the wireless internet prices and have reduced the rates. We are looking into the possibility to make the wireless internet free in the future.

Best regards,

Yi-heng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    192
    67
    12
    7
See reviews for
28
166
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We originally had reservations at a hotel called QBic by the World Trade Center, we wanted to stay close to Schipol since we were just passing through for the night. Upon check-in they inform us that our reservation was lost and they are completely booked up. The were nice enough to recommend Hotel Allure who had availability but was closer to central Amsterdam. We were nervous about going to a hotel sight unseen, but boy was it a pleasant surprise. The hotel is only 1 block away from the metro, it's 2 stops from Central AMS Station which was great. The room was modern, clean, and exceeded all expectations. We had a lovely balcony to view the street and the reception was friendly too. There was a computer in the lobby that had free wi-fi access and breakfast was included. For 72 Euro, it was absolutely amazing. We were going back to Amsterdam in two weeks and wanted to stay there again, unfortunately they were booked solid.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loriljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Manager at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your kind review. Sorry that we couldn't offer you our services when you returned.

I would like to recommend to make a reservation in advance to avoid disappointment in the future.

Best regards,

Yi-heng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

I am writing this review hoping it would help somebody (just as I hope to find helpful advice regarding hotels in New York for my next travel). It really depends what you are looking for - but this is a small yet very nice and clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Location is also very good. Not the heart of the city but close enough to reach it on foot. My boyfriend and I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brownsug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Manager at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words and the recommendation.

Kind regards,

Yi-heng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Hotel Allure was clean, safe, quiet and warm...just what I wanted for my 3 day trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is in the University precinct in the city, and is only 5 minutes walk to the metro (underground) and 3 stops from Centrum (less than 10 minutes train ride). A 20 minute walk had you at Lizaplein eating district, walking right past several of the main museums. The staff were very friendly, and polite. I had a great stay, and would stay there again, recommending it to anyone wishing to stay a little out of the hustle and bustle of downtown Amsterdam, yet close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aj_rammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Manager at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review.

Best regards,

Yi-heng
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I stayed here because I needed to be in this neighbourhood but the city centre is accessible. It was really clean - newly renovated. I found the staff friendly and helpful. There was no traffic noise at the back but you could here anyone talking outside the room so I wouldn't recommend a ground floor room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Owner at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review.

Kind regards,


Yi-heng
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

Very nice Hotel, great location, easy to walk to Ann Frank house etc....number 7/10 tram just a few steps away. Lovely breakfast, clean and new rooms. Try and get room at the back away from the road (Road is quite quiet as this Hotel is in a quiet area). Tram runs past it but not too loud. for price and location, not a lot better out there!! Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Owner at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your very positive comments on hotel Allure.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

With very best regards

Yi-heng
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2009

After reading the most recent reviews of this hotel, I was tempted between this and the Tulip hotel central. I chose this in the end simply because breakfast was included and it was slightly cheaper.

Breakfast consists of toast, boiled eggs, cereals, jam, orange juice tea and coffee. 24 hour service and staff very pleasant. Hotel and room was immaculate, hotel is currently only 4 months old, and everything still looks pretty much new.

If you do not mind walking the hotel is a good 20 minute walk along Amstel to Rembrandt square, alternatively you can get the tram. There is the number 7 and 10 (stop for this a 5 mins away) which takes you to the number 4 or 25 which takes u through town.

If you want a hotel where we you walk outside the door and end up in the centre of town, then you will not get this here. However if you want a very clean, pleasant, pretty good location (as long as walking is not a problem) and reasoable prices then I highly recommend the Allure.

Dislikes: 5% city tax on top of what you pay, then depending on where you book the hotel, beware that you may be charged an extra 3% for using VISA.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yiheng, Owner at Hotel Allure, responded to this review, December 16, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We will take into account about the 3% credit card surcharge and the 5% city tax.

Kind regards,


Yi-heng
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#129 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#34 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#118 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#64 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
#67 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allure

Property: Hotel Allure
Address: Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allure 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing