We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Front Rooms are Horribly Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Allure
Ranked #55 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location, Front Rooms are Horribly Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed in a room on the 1st floor at the front of the hotel. The room was nice and it had everyone you need to have a nice stay there. It was clean and well equipped.

However, at all times until the trams stop it is horrendously noisy and it was so hard to get to sleep as the windows are thin and the window did not go all the way down to the bottom, not blocking out the sound. I would not recommend this room at all. Could not sleep for hours.

Hiring Bikes from the hotel was great, good to get around Amsterdam on and they are cheaper than the competition in the city.

Room Tip: Do not get front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlisReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    188
    63
    12
    6
See reviews for
27
162
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room looked nice, and was in good condition except for a window that was difficult to close (had to use force). Even though the temperature outside was only 12-14 degrees at night, the room got really hot, resulting in sweaty nights even without duvets, and with the window open. We were on the top floor, and the room probably got heated during the day. There was a small fan available which helped a bit. With the window open, the noise from the street was very loud, so I had to use earplugs to sleep.There are metro and tram stops right outside of the hotel, and a big supermarket nearby.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Audun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel Allure is located centrally and near a metro stop and lots of tourist hotspots. Avoid the breakfast (overpriced and low quality) but they were kind enough to internationally mail my headphone battery that I left in the hotel. Overall great customer service, great location, good quality room for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alix t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located, but outside of masses of tourists. Neighborhood felt very safe (not sketch as other reviewer indicated). Staff is super, especially Jin at the reception desk. He was very knowledgeable about the neighborhood and the city. Easy walking to museums and streets with many different types of restaurants. Also 15 min walk to second hand sidewalk market. About 30 min walk or 10 min metro to Central Train Station. Breakfast is 7.50 if you prepay and is worth it (eggs, meat, cheese, cereals, breads). There are bikes to rent. We had budget room with our own door to the back courtyard. Lovely place to sit outside and relax in sun or shade. Only negative was cleaning staff waited until 5 pm to clean room on a couple days--seemed late and not convenient. Also budget room did not appear to have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Budget Room #26 has its own door to back courtyard. Avoid budget rooms on streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel gets points for being close enough to all the parts of the city that you want to see, that you're able to walk. It's right by a tram, so if you aren't in Olympian shape like me, you can ride. The neighborhood is a little sketch, but not dangerous. Still, I wouldn't go wandering around by myself after dark without my batarang. They charge for internet and for breakfast. I opted to skip the hotel breakfast and grab something at the bakhuys down the street to save a few bucks.
Check on your reservation beforehand to see if you're booking a basement room. It's easy to overlook, then you're stuck in a tiny little basement hampster room, like me. I don't mind, but most people would find this room, cramped. Also, no fridge in the room means no hoarding delicious deli meats for snacks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mere steps to a metro and tram stop, and a short walk over the Amstel river to the heart of Amsterdam (almost a straight shot to many tourist destinations). It was easy to venture off for the day and return to drop off bags or grab a coat. The neighborhood was very safe (stayed alone one night and felt comfortable) and though we stayed in a basement room we were not disturbed by noise from the street or other guests. The staff is extremely accommodating, providing an adapter when ours broke and allowing us to print boarding passes. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and offered a good selection. The front desk was always willing to provide information and spent a good deal of time discussing options with me for what smaller town to take the train in for a day, and his recommendations were great. Wifi costs but there are computers in the lobby available for free use (and a bar with free wifi nearby). The room and bathroom were clean and more spacious than expected from a small-scale European hotel. Overall very impressed, and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: From basement rooms you can hear the tram early in the evening and hear high-heels walking by very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#137 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#64 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
#78 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#105 of 331 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allure

Property: Hotel Allure
Address: Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allure 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing