We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot room, otherwise ok”
Review of Hotel Allure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Allure
Ranked #76 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room looked nice, and was in good condition except for a window that was difficult to close (had to use force). Even though the temperature outside was only 12-14 degrees at night, the room got really hot, resulting in sweaty nights even without duvets, and with the window open. We were on the top floor, and the room probably got heated during the day. There was a small fan available which helped a bit. With the window open, the noise from the street was very loud, so I had to use earplugs to sleep.There are metro and tram stops right outside of the hotel, and a big supermarket nearby.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Audun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Allure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 405 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Hotel Allure is located centrally and near a metro stop and lots of tourist hotspots. Avoid the breakfast (overpriced and low quality) but they were kind enough to internationally mail my headphone battery that I left in the hotel. Overall great customer service, great location, good quality room for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alix t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located, but outside of masses of tourists. Neighborhood felt very safe (not sketch as other reviewer indicated). Staff is super, especially Jin at the reception desk. He was very knowledgeable about the neighborhood and the city. Easy walking to museums and streets with many different types of restaurants. Also 15 min walk to second hand sidewalk market. About 30 min walk or 10 min metro to Central Train Station. Breakfast is 7.50 if you prepay and is worth it (eggs, meat, cheese, cereals, breads). There are bikes to rent. We had budget room with our own door to the back courtyard. Lovely place to sit outside and relax in sun or shade. Only negative was cleaning staff waited until 5 pm to clean room on a couple days--seemed late and not convenient. Also budget room did not appear to have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Budget Room #26 has its own door to back courtyard. Avoid budget rooms on streetside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel gets points for being close enough to all the parts of the city that you want to see, that you're able to walk. It's right by a tram, so if you aren't in Olympian shape like me, you can ride. The neighborhood is a little sketch, but not dangerous. Still, I wouldn't go wandering around by myself after dark without my batarang. They charge for internet and for breakfast. I opted to skip the hotel breakfast and grab something at the bakhuys down the street to save a few bucks.
Check on your reservation beforehand to see if you're booking a basement room. It's easy to overlook, then you're stuck in a tiny little basement hampster room, like me. I don't mind, but most people would find this room, cramped. Also, no fridge in the room means no hoarding delicious deli meats for snacks.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Malene G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mere steps to a metro and tram stop, and a short walk over the Amstel river to the heart of Amsterdam (almost a straight shot to many tourist destinations). It was easy to venture off for the day and return to drop off bags or grab a coat. The neighborhood was very safe (stayed alone one night and felt comfortable) and though we stayed in a basement room we were not disturbed by noise from the street or other guests. The staff is extremely accommodating, providing an adapter when ours broke and allowing us to print boarding passes. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and offered a good selection. The front desk was always willing to provide information and spent a good deal of time discussing options with me for what smaller town to take the train in for a day, and his recommendations were great. Wifi costs but there are computers in the lobby available for free use (and a bar with free wifi nearby). The room and bathroom were clean and more spacious than expected from a small-scale European hotel. Overall very impressed, and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: From basement rooms you can hear the tram early in the evening and hear high-heels walking by very c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a great hotel in a quiet area of Amsterdam; public transportation is just off the block and a grocery store is just down the road. Room size is great and it serves as a great base to explore the city. The only downside is that the wifi is sometimes not very reliable. However, the staffs are extremely friendly and they will work with you to solve your problems.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#29 of 337 in Amsterdam
759 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#57 of 337 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#96 of 337 in Amsterdam
255 reviews
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#67 of 337 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Acostar Hotel
Acostar Hotel
#161 of 337 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allure

Address: Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $95 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allure 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing