We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient courtyard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Allure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Allure
Ranked #63 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient courtyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Hotel is conveniently located, but outside of masses of tourists. Neighborhood felt very safe (not sketch as other reviewer indicated). Staff is super, especially Jin at the reception desk. He was very knowledgeable about the neighborhood and the city. Easy walking to museums and streets with many different types of restaurants. Also 15 min walk to second hand sidewalk market. About 30 min walk or 10 min metro to Central Train Station. Breakfast is 7.50 if you prepay and is worth it (eggs, meat, cheese, cereals, breads). There are bikes to rent. We had budget room with our own door to the back courtyard. Lovely place to sit outside and relax in sun or shade. Only negative was cleaning staff waited until 5 pm to clean room on a couple days--seemed late and not convenient. Also budget room did not appear to have air conditioning.

Room Tip: Budget Room #26 has its own door to back courtyard. Avoid budget rooms on streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    192
    67
    12
    7
See reviews for
28
166
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel gets points for being close enough to all the parts of the city that you want to see, that you're able to walk. It's right by a tram, so if you aren't in Olympian shape like me, you can ride. The neighborhood is a little sketch, but not dangerous. Still, I wouldn't go wandering around by myself after dark without my batarang. They charge for internet and for breakfast. I opted to skip the hotel breakfast and grab something at the bakhuys down the street to save a few bucks.
Check on your reservation beforehand to see if you're booking a basement room. It's easy to overlook, then you're stuck in a tiny little basement hampster room, like me. I don't mind, but most people would find this room, cramped. Also, no fridge in the room means no hoarding delicious deli meats for snacks.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Mere steps to a metro and tram stop, and a short walk over the Amstel river to the heart of Amsterdam (almost a straight shot to many tourist destinations). It was easy to venture off for the day and return to drop off bags or grab a coat. The neighborhood was very safe (stayed alone one night and felt comfortable) and though we stayed in a basement room we were not disturbed by noise from the street or other guests. The staff is extremely accommodating, providing an adapter when ours broke and allowing us to print boarding passes. The breakfast was very reasonably priced and offered a good selection. The front desk was always willing to provide information and spent a good deal of time discussing options with me for what smaller town to take the train in for a day, and his recommendations were great. Wifi costs but there are computers in the lobby available for free use (and a bar with free wifi nearby). The room and bathroom were clean and more spacious than expected from a small-scale European hotel. Overall very impressed, and we would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: From basement rooms you can hear the tram early in the evening and hear high-heels walking by very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carley52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a great hotel in a quiet area of Amsterdam; public transportation is just off the block and a grocery store is just down the road. Room size is great and it serves as a great base to explore the city. The only downside is that the wifi is sometimes not very reliable. However, the staffs are extremely friendly and they will work with you to solve your problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Allure from the 20th of April 2014 until the 25th (five nights/four days), and had chosen it after quite an exhaustive search a few weeks earlier. The reviews on this site were very positive (some of the best I’d read) and I had looked at around forty other places before settling for this hotel. I have to say right from the word go, that the glowing reviews on here for the Allure, are thoroughly deserved and utterly warranted! It is a family run concern, and the staff there are amongst the friendliest, most helpful and attentive I have ever experienced. The rooms are clean, and I mean immaculately clean, and were very well presented, comfortable and adequately equipped. The toilet/shower room was a very nice, usable size and come complete with hair dryer, soaps and shower gel. The beds were really comfortable (and I have a recognised back condition) and we both got a very good nights sleep. The linens and towels were changed twice during our five night stay, and the only thing we had to request from the front desk was tea and coffee supplies. The breakfast was an extra charge, €7.50 in advance, or €10.00 on the day, and whilst not particularly cheap, it is an all you can eat affair, with a very good variety of produce supplied (tea, coffee, cereal, toast, rolls, cold meats, eggs, fresh fruit, fruit juice, yoghurt's, waffles etc). Location wise it is excellent! Just a couple of minutes walk to the metro and tram. The former just three stops from Amsterdam centraal, and the latter just three stops from the Leidseplein, and five (with one change) from Rembrandt square. I really can't sing this hotels praises enough, and it would be utterly suitable for all but the most picky of travellers. The only thing slightly negative for me was the price we paid to stay there. It certainly wasn't the cheapest, but I believe it was because it was the week before Koningsdag (Kings day) that the prices were a little higher than normal. Even with this though, I don't regret booking it for an instant, and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the vibrant city of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Area is generally very quite. Back rooms are better for lighter sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brady68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked this place by mistake but it was not a very bad one..Its nice neat and clean place with Tram and bus station only 200 meters away...its isolated from all the tourist rush in Central. you have to purchase WiFi access but its not that bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RehanShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#129 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Nicolaas Witsen Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#120 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
Hotel Vossius Vondelpark
#65 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
#66 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allure

Property: Hotel Allure
Address: Sarphatistraat 117-119, 1018 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allure 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Allure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing