We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy seafood”
Review of Kopke Adega - CLOSED

Kopke Adega
Price range: $49 - $98
Neighborhood: Centrum
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Centrum
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Healthy seafood”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Nice assortment of seafood in this little restaurant off the main streets. Recommended by concierge of nearby Marriott Rennaisance Hotel. Soups are broth based rather than cream and my fish was nicely grilled and not heavy. Mediterranean style cooking. Atmosphere is nothing much. Good restaurant if you want to eat healthy while travelling.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    3
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two contrasting visits - excellent to average”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I made two visits Kopke while working in Amsterdam, first in Feb then in March 2010. I like seafood and also like places which are good quality but informal in style. The first visit, I had the Portuguese sardines followed by the baked mackerel (Mackerel a la Kopke) and I can honestly say this was one of the best fish dinners I have had (and some good wines too). The service was friendly and helpful too, just one waiter (it's a small restaurant). I went back in March and had exactly the same dishes, but this time it was rather average. The difference? The chefs! The first time the chef was an old (and clearly great) Italian chef, the second time it was a young guy. And service was more desultory the second time round too (different waiter). If the old chef is still around this place rates as 'excellent' for the food otherwise it's nearer average. The 'value' rating also goes higher for the first meal, because the food was well worth the price.

  • Visited March 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My wife and I were in Amsterdam only a couple of days but our seafood dinner at Kopke was our finest meal there. We really found one of the prawn appetizers and the sea bass to be quite excellent. The cost was on the higher end but not overly so and the restaurant was small and quaint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peace00frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's changed a lot!”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

I gave this restaurant a glowing review last year based on numerous visits to it between 2000 and 2007. On returning to it last month, I found that it had changed hands and the character that was such a big part of it previously had also changed - completely. The decor had been completely changed leaving little of the charm and ambience that it used to have. The turnover in staff has also made a huge difference. It has lost it's intimate feel and I would say has rather sold out to attract a more business-oriented / high-end tourist kind of clientele. It's not a disaster, the food's fine, the service ok (the waitress was new) but little touches like warm sherry (when fino should be served chilled) meant that the authenticity it once had was now gone. Ah well, things change!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redallovertheland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kopke Adega also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing