We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Ranked #30 of 3,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
322 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“very nice food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had lunch at Bussia. Nice restaurant in the old part of Amsterdam. We had a 3 course lunch. As a starte I had the tartar of wild salmon, my companions had the risotto and the pasta with venison. All very tasty. As main course wild hare and stake respectively. It was very nice laid out ont he plate and all tstyed very good. Desert was a picture in itself and the various tastes were delicious. Some aespresso with friandises to end all this. Very good food and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amsterdam05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    149
    47
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
415 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Bussia offers a tasting menu of four, five, or six courses, but I chose to go a la carte, not hungry enough for that much food. I had a soup of borlotti beans that included small cubes of gorgonzola and pieces of liquorice jelly. It was outstanding, perfect for a cold and rainy winter evening. I followed the soup with a pasta dish from the tasting menu - matagliata with wild boar sauce. Perfectly cooked pasta, rich and filled with flavor. I didn't have room for dessert, though I was tempted by the lemon souffle.

The wine list offers a good selection of wines by the glass (all Italian), but only one half bottle (a very expensive barolo). The glass of Langhe Nebbiolo I had was perfect.

Food of this quality is never cheap and I paid 40 euros for two courses and a glass of wine (no coffee). Expensive, yes, but not excessively so for a delicious meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasting menu-very good but very expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I ate here in December 2013 with a colleague after a long day in work. The tasting menu was good to very good and the service was great. I'm reserving the 5th tripadvisor star for two reasons. The main course part of the menu was skate, which was only ok,(not usually a sweet person but the dessert was an amazing mix of chocolate treats), and I felt the meal was a little too expensive than it should have been(just a little bit)

Helpful?
Thank Dublin_IrelandBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
276 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Number One Restaurant Choice in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We first discovered Bussia 3 years ago and fell in love with it, eating two dinners there during our in 4 night stay. We knew we had to try it again to see if it was as good as we remembered. We were not disappointed and agree with one reviewer that it was one of the best meals we've had anywhere.

After a delightful palate teaser, we began with the soup of the day, bean soup. The flat bowl arrived with artfully positioned dollops of gorgonzola, beans, crispy pillows of pastry over which was poured a creamy bean puree. The flavors and textures were carefully designed to complement each other making for a flavorful taste treat. The wild duck was served three ways--a duck breast, duck confit rolled in a cabbage leaf and duck in a crispy rice crust. Constructions of yellow and red beets accompanied the duck. It was absolute heaven!

The service was excellent and the server informative without being preachy or overbearing. We will long remember our outstanding meal and will surely return the next time we visit Amsterdam.

Bussia is conveniently located in the 9 street shopping/restaurant district in the west side of the city and around the corner from the Pulitzer Hotel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fififlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Totally first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Easily one of the top 2 or 3 dining experiences ever, anywhere. From the layout of the room to the service to the food and wine pairings, this was a superb evening. Elegant without being stuffy, nouvelle without being snobby, and truly delicious. We wil not visit Amsterdam without a return visit to Bussia.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing