We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent experience-pretty presentation”
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Ranked #41 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
130 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent experience-pretty presentation”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had 6 nights to plan dinners in Amsterdam and Bussia was one of the higher priced options. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty. The service was quite good. However, it was the highest priced by a significant margin. We were happy we ate here, but would visit a couple of the other places we tried (Max, Brasserie de Vlaming) again first.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    169
    57
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am writing this not only the food and wine were excellent, but Romy, has really done an excellent job in serving our table. She's very friendly and knowledgable with the wine and our different courses.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkkeroppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A different type of Italian!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Located reasonably centrally, this is a very different type of Italian restaurant. If you're happy with the usual corner-shop pizzas and pastas, forget this place. If you like good food but are afraid of the usual limited range of foods, then try here.
Each course (Northern Provincial style) was subtle, complicated and extremely artistic in presentation. We had the benefit of a girl from Surinam as server who spoke seriously good English and announced each plate with pride and incredible enthusiasm, giving some idea of the complex food combinations involved.
Superb atmosphere with note of the "clank" factor associated with hard furnishings. There was an intimate feeling around each table. Service was exceptionally good.
We look forward to visiting again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Impeccable food, very good matching wine snd excellent service at reasonable price ( 6 course degustation menu with 5 matching wine, at around 100 euros), what more can you ask for? Best dining experience in amsterdam so far! Bravo !

Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucuresti
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not so incredible as expected”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is very simple as décor, quite minimalist, in wood. The menu is not very rich, not at all actually, the prices are rather high, and the dishes rather small. I adore the Italian cuisine, and had the opportunity to eat a lot in Italy, in small restaurants, in hidden gems, or in expensive restaurants, and the dishes in Bussia don't rise at the level of a Italian restaurant. Mostly the dishes have nothing in comun with the traditional Italian food. Is more a fusion or something experimental cuisine. The service is excellent, and the waiters are very good as selling you food that you don't want, even when you are full. So I raise my hat in front of them!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing