We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Restaurant in Amsterdam!”
Review of Bussia

Bussia
Ranked #44 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Noord-Holland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Italian Restaurant in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We love Italian restaurants and we tried afkomst all (high end) ones in Amsterdam.
Without a doubt this is the best, if you are looking for authentic food, nice atmosphere and good service.
Prices are steep, but the menu is excellent value for money. Location is a nice bonus, in the middle of one of the nicest parts of the city.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apestaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    175
    58
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for entertaining clients”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Second time I have been lucky enough to eat here this year and this time it was for dinner with clients. The team really excelled themselves with a 6 course tasting menu washed down with great Italian wines. Enough said, highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent but could be improved still”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Fine dining. A lot of good effort. Two points - the wine glass came with pieces of cork in it. İ asked a spoon to take the cork out of the wine hoping the waitress would do better and change the glass. Spoon came and i started picking the cork out but then decided to ask directly to change the glass for a new one. She changed it but with no apologies. The courses were very very good. The second thing was there was a small stone in the risotto. Luckly i did not bite. İ took it out and placed it on the bread plate. When another waiter came and asked how the risotto was i said i loved it but asked her to tell the chef to be careful when cleanng the rice as there was a stone in it. She was surprised and she said she would tell the chef. She took the bread plate with the stone and replaced it with a new one. Again no apologies. İ was served by four waitresses in total. Final two were very friendly. Some more effort on how to cope with problems i think. Although i was frankly very informative and not over demanding. İ would love to go back and i am sure if they keep up the good work they will improve.

Helpful?
Thank itira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food but beware of the service!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited Bussia on the 1st November after looking at reviews on Tripadvisor. Being listed no. 8 on the list of Amsterdam restaurants we expected a great meal and we were not disappointed. The food was lovely. My partner opted for the four course taster menu and I had a main and a dessert. Three out of the four courses my partner had were exceptional and looked like works of art. The only course which didn’t reach the high standards of the others was the pasta course. I opted for the fillet of beef with a parsley crust which was delicious, I followed this with the cheese plate which was yummy! My only negative comment relates to the service. We asked for advice on the wine and were helped by someone who was clearly very knowledgeable. However, when it was discovered that we wanted a wine that wasn’t outrageously expensive (he then selected a bottle for 64 euro) things changed! 64 euro was out of our price range (which he considered cheap) so we selected one at 47. We then noticed how other tables were brought bread and received sweets with their bill, strangely we never received either of these! I can’t help thinking this could be related to the fact that we weren’t paying enough money in their eyes! This ruined for me what would have been a wonderful meal although I can't fault the food to be honest!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlefi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent city centre restaurant”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I ate here with my wife and grown-up son. We had a fabulous meal - opted for the tasting menu along with the restaurants selection of wines.
Food was superb and the wine selection worked really well. It was also good fun to try a selection of wines that we would not normally taste.

Probably the best service I have experienced in Amsterdam (a city that is not renowned for great service standards)

restaurant had a great relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing