We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An all rounder...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bussia

Bussia
Ranked #41 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An all rounder...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table at bussia on a Sunday night on a busy weekend in Amsterdam as a couple had made a last minute cancellation - boy did they miss out!! Bussia is in a lovely location in 9 streets shopping area and came highly recommended by our appartment host. Every element from the service, food, wine and atmosphere could not be faulted. We had chosen to have the 5 course set menu with wine which look us on a journey back to Northern italy. We were introduced to wines not only by the standard variety and region but also a short description of the wine maker themselves.
Service from our waiter was impecable - she is a real asset to the restuarant and made experience all the more enjoyable. If you are ever in amsterdam then you must add this restaurant into your list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Floz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    622
    169
    55
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent nouvelle Italian cousine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had the 4 course menu with wine. Each course was beautifully presented and delicious, good for a foodie. We had two choices for each course which was nice because my husband and I could order different items and try both. The meal was paced perfectly, not too quick, but not making you wonder if they had forgotten you either. We would go back there again. Make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italian adaptation for dutch customer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went in Bussia last week and our expectations were disappointed.
The restaurant is prensented as an Italian fine food, but actually the style of the food is international and in general the dishes were really in the avarage.
The quality of the food was good but we found our 4 courses menu a bit bland.
The main course of meat was presented with a crocquete of cheese and the fish with a block of lentils, that you will not find in typical italian restaurants.
Anyway the service was really good as the location and the ambience too.
We spent a nice evening but for the same price we will probably not come back there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanodarlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Northern Italian food. Meticulous presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

I think that we had a 5 or 6 course menu. They were all small plates but even big eaters would like it because the bred basket is constantly refilled. We could have had the option to order larger portions from the regular menu, which would have been 3 or four courses.

I could have been anywhere eating my Northern Italian food: San Francisco, LA, New York, Chicago, Milan, London. I don't mean for this to come across that the food was uninspired or just OK; it was more that I was pleasantly surprised that it was very good. Even the Dutch told us over and over, "we are not known for our food". I would return to this restaurant if i were to visit Amsterdam again.

The service was efficient when we wanted something, otherwise like everywhere else in the Netherlands, they assume that you will want to sit there for 3 hours or more. The place was packed on a Friday night and very loud. We had a great table on the second floor, near a railing where we could look down on other diners and people-watch, or watch the kitchen. That was really fun; we could see them as they assembled each plate, examined it, shook their heads and threw it away, started over and examined it once more, then finally proclaimed it to be perfect and sent it to a table.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Italian with a nouvelle cousine attitude ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Fast and friendly service. The menu is small but particular, very Italian but with small artsy portions. Great Italian wines, high end mostly.
If you love Piedmont kitchen this place is a must. Book ahead.

Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Bussia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Bussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing