We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Home”
Review of Amsterdam At Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amsterdam At Home
Ranked #25 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels like Home”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I regularly travel to Amsterdam for work. The location of this place is perfect. You can walk to any where from it. Located in a very quiet street but just few steps away from bars, restaurant and Metro station. The lower ground studio has everything you need while on holiday. It has kitchenette, fridge, microwave, and Nespresso coffee machine! It's very clean and very bright! I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
113
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place has such a good feel to it. You get two levels with a kitchen and dining room downstairs, it is just like your own house in Amsterdam. It really gives you a good experience as to what it might be like to live in Amsterdam.

David was very thorough in telling us about Amsterdam, a great host.

We don't have any negatives, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bec_and_daz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed there last week in the lower ground studio. We were reticent at first, as the studio is located at the lower ground floor. For some it might be considered a basement but it is actually very common in the old town (as we discovered later on) and only adds on to the charm of the place. The room was very bright and cozy and came with many small little touches, like a bottle of wine and fresh fruits. Everything was immaculately clean and kept clean throughout our visit. The location is just perfect!! Even though it is just off the busy Nieuwmarket Square and Chinatown, it's very quiet at night since it's in a small residential street without traffic. We walked everywhere from there (the wonderful Hermitage Museum is very close by and shouldn't be missed by art lovers!). The icing of the cake was the service from Chris and David, who sat down with us and showed us all the good places on the map, including outstanding recommendations for dinner - there is nothing like having advice from locals who know the city so well. We are already thinking of our next trip to Amsterdam and no doubt about it we will stay at Amsterdam At Home again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillaume I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this BB located a few minutes walk away from Nieuwmarkt. My husband and I had the ground and first floor to ourselves, whilst my parents had the studio in the basement below
( less steps to contend with)
It was like hiring fabulous apartment's, but much less expensive!
Both had en-suite facilities, kitchens, and a sitting area. I believe they can be hired independent of each other.
David had just taken over the BB, and he is the perfect host, spending time marking the map with local restaurants, which trams to catch where, and steering us away from tourist traps.
We walked to the Dam, red light district, brown bars and restaurant's, and got trams to the museums and Anne Frank House.
It is a great base to explore from, a great place to return back to, we were sad to leave and will be back!.

Room Tip: Less mobile guests should choose the basement as the first floor is up very steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at the Amsterdam At Home Studio for a week last month and want to say a warm thankyou to Christel for being an amazing hostess!

My wife and I visit Amsterdam periodically and found Amsterdam at Home to be in an ideal location for the centre and all the sites. It's only a short walk to Nieuwmarkt and the Metro, RLD and all the sites.

The place is very clean and presentable with good wifi and we even had our own key and private access.

Despite being near the busy city centre the street is nice and quiet so once the door was closed it felt delightfully private.

Christel even treated us to a wonderful apple pie in a classic example of Dutch hospitality! It was delicious!

We do not hesitate to recommend Amsterdam At Home to anyone and look forward to staying there again in the near future.

Wayne and Jayne White

Room Tip: The studio is private and relaxing with its own front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amsterdam at home is the nicest place you may ever find in Amsterdam even if you have a long time of stay. We arrived Amsterdam very late at night and even though the late hour they came to the train station to pick us up to be safe. I highly recommend! Thanx for everything to the owners

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nergis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just lovely, do not hesitate! Best welcome you can ask for. Great location and rooms etc. Very peaceful place yet close to everything. Come on, 200 letters minimum is a lot, just book it or whatever! Do i have to write a novel?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aalarens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 336 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
916 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 336 in Amsterdam
178 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ecomama Hotel
Ecomama Hotel
#11 of 234 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam At Home

Property: Amsterdam At Home
Address: Korte Keizersstraat 12, 1011 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam At Home is the ideal place to stay in Amsterdam! Two private and independent units are available in this beautiful historical house in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Shops, bars & restaurants - as well as museums and attractions - are literally a stone`s throw away. Everything can be reached easily by foot. You will be staying right inside the historic city-centre. Both of our units come with private entrance, fully equipped kitchen, free snacks, coffee- and tea making facilities (incl. free coffee & tea), bathroom incl. free toiletries, daily cleaning. Come stay with us, we promise it will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam At Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing