We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent accomodation in the BEST LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam At Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam At Home
Ranked #16 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accomodation in the BEST LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the "Sweet Dreams" apartment, it was clean, warm, fresh and very well equipped. We arrived late evening and were met by Christel who provided a drink, map and all the information we wanted for our five night stay including, where to eat, best museums, local markets, bike hire and even her personal phone number in case we got lost !! Excellent service. The location is perfect, a lovely quiet street with just a short walk to the hustle and bustle of the City. The apartment is in the best part of town the "Real Amsterdam". The local people are really freindly and helpful. We would happily book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
105
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just came back from spending three night at this great place. We stayed in the basement studio and it was fantastic. A typical Dutch house situated in a quite little street in the heart old Amsterdam. The studio is quite big yet very cosy and homely. And as a plus Christel is a wonderful hostess who greeted us with wine, fruit and breakfast to start our experience in Amsterdam. She was very helpful providing information about the city, what to see, where to eat…Cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciruelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Such a cosy room, well equipped with really comfy beds. Great location so close to the center of Amsterdam yet the little street is lovely and quiet, very welcoming after the hustle and bustle of amsterdam. Christel(owner of the b +b) was really helpful and accommodating made us feel right at home. If I were ever to visit Amsterdam again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jodie2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Christel welcomed us with open arms even though we were over an hour late and she had an appointment to get to. She still had time to provide us a welcome coffee and cake, which was really good. She provided us all the sights to see to make the most of our  short 2 day stay in Amsterdam. Providing us her personal phone number in case we got stuck along the way. 

We were in the basement room which was a very romantic hideaway. Fully appointed with kitchen facilities ( especially the bottle of complimentary wine ), good bathroom and the room had underfloor heating which kept it very cosy. There was a small amount of noise from the upstairs room, nothing we couldn't handle. But worth mentioning as we had an early departing group who made lots of noise. 

Location was perfect and let us explorer the best part of town. The local square is less than 2 minutes away and contains all the entertainment and restaurants you could possible want. A very safe and family friendly area of town.  

I am writing this about 20 days after our stay, we are still traveling Europe and I must say that we remember this experience fondly and would happily book again on our next visit. 

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I were in Amsterdam April 21 - 24. Two years ago we stayed at Christel's (the owner) Amsterdam At Home B&B. We loved it and had such a great time, we thought, "Why try some other place when we know what's there.?" So we booked in three nights again at the B&B. We arrived by train from the town of Maastricht at noon. It took about ten minutes to walk from the train station to the Nieuwmarkt area at Korte Keizersstraat 12. We rang the doorbell, Christel answered. We were welcomed with a big hug and a greetings drink to celebrate our return arrival. We sat with her and husband, Hans, for about thirty minutes just talking about anything and everything. We felt right at home. She also told us that Hans would drive us to the airport the morning we needed to fly out. This was a new addition to what had already been fabulous service. For the next three days and nights, we were in and out, having just a fun time in this wonderful city. One night, in need of a good Italian restaurant to celebrate a birthday with some friends, I called Christel on her personnel phone. She answered, told her what I needed. She gave me the name of a nearby restaurant, Ristorante Gusto, a short walk away. It was excellent. The B&B was as before, very clean, and yet so quiet with its location not far from the busy Nieuwmarkt area. It's a residential area. Not many people walk by, especially at night. You are not awaken by groups of loud people walking by. The apartment we stayed in was two levels. Kitchen, dining and living room on the first level, bed room and bathroom on the second level. The kitchen was stalked with cold sodas, beer and wine, stove, pots, pans, utensils and plates. The morning we had to catch an early flight, Hans was there exactly at the time he said he would be there. We made it to the airport in plenty of time. He even helped carry our bags into the terminal. So, after two years of being away, our return for stay number two at Amsterdam At Home B&B was just as good, if not better this time. We highly recommend it and the great hospitality of Christel and Hans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardDianaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A beautiful two floor apartment equipped with a bar, full kitchen and 1 1/2 bath! The romantic decor includes wooden furniture, chandeliers and plants. As an added plus it is in a great location and Christel is awesome! Loved this place!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnamarret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am returning to Amsterdam at Home in a few weeks for my second stay! My first stay was last spring with a friend and it dawned on me I forgot to put down in writing how wonderful my stay was. When I arrived Gavin was waiting for me to give me the key. I stayed in the Sweet Dreams Apartment which is the upstairs part of the B&B. I was not expecting a two floor apartment and both my friend and I were very impressed. It was bright an open and very spacious. We appreciated the bar and ample kitchen space. Amsterdam at Home is on a small canal street and is very quiet but it is a quick two minute walk to the market square. They have a great farmer's market on Saturdays that is definitely worth checking out. There are many coffee shops and pubs very close by and we found everything else was close enough that we could easily walk (museums,parks, historical sites). Christel popped in once during our week stay and she was very friendly and gave us some great tips on what to see. Amsterdam is such a fabulous city with something for everyone and I could not imagine visiting this wonderful place and not staying at Amsterdam at Home. It will definitely be my home when I visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellsAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,285 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam At Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam At Home

Property: Amsterdam At Home
Address: Korte Keizersstraat 12, 1011 GG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam At Home is the ideal place to stay in Amsterdam! Two private and independent units are available in this beautiful historical house in the oldest part of Amsterdam. Shops, bars & restaurants - as well as museums and attractions - are literally a stone`s throw away. Everything can be reached easily by foot. You will be staying right inside the historic city-centre. Both of our units come with private entrance, fully equipped kitchen, free snacks, coffee- and tea making facilities (incl. free coffee & tea), bathroom incl. free toiletries, daily cleaning. Come stay with us, we promise it will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam At Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing