We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great apartment!”
Review of La Vie en Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Vie en Rose B&B
Ranked #47 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and after reading the other reviews we had high expectations and were not disappointed at all. This is a great apartment in the heart of the city, walking distance from Dam Square and Centraal station with a tram stop just outside.

We were impressed by the size and layout. Great living area overlooking one of the main streets. Christa was great and gave us a lot of local information about the old part of amsterdam which was very helpful and also helped with other requests. We would always stay here when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waynesuperc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Spent a night with my girlfriend at this gorgeous B&B.
The apartment is amazing, tastefully decorated and very clean. The beds are super comfortable and the owners are so friendly and available to help you with any question you might have.
I highly recommended it as the location is also fantastic, everything is close by and easy to reach.
Thank you Chris and Yvon, for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for three nights during my husband's business trip with our little baby. The apartment is run by a female couple without children and is situated in a rather dodgy and not very nice area.

The booking via booking.com gad to be cancelled and booked directly, a price reduction was not offered though. Rather poor standard of the apartment. At first glance it seems clean but then you notice a horrible smell coming from the toilets and the run-down state of the furniture - not acceptable at the price of a 4* hotel. Also it will not be cleaned during your stay.

Instead - and that was the worst for us - the owners come to inspect the apartment during your absence, leave notes and remove items - complaining that our little toddler was doing a mess, crawling around and throwing their leaflets on the floor. We did let our baby which was in crawling stage play with the advertisement leaflets (e.g. for gay bars or sports bars) on the floor and thought it was no problem to leave them on the floor. When we came back there was a long letter from the owners threatening us to charge our credit card because of the baby's mess. Additionally they had removed half of the (already run-down) interior from the apartment. All in all everything was extremely unpleasant for us an we did not feel at home at all during our entire stay which was very stressful.

There a far nicer and more comfortable places to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Coccoa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear guests....your review did not come as a surprise to us...we did expect to hear from you a bit sooner since your stay was in October last year.
We certainly did not forget you either. and we feel hurt and confused by your review....
We do want to take the oppurtunity to explain to our potential guests, our side of the story, or in fact, what really happened..... we, and all other guests that stayed with us, will not recognise our accommodations in the review you posted....in fact, I can gladly say all other reviewers that stayed with us on Tripadvisor who rated us are satisfied about their stay and that guests do enjoy and see the true meaning of what we are trying to achieve as owners of La vie en rose.....
First of all, we did not come to the apartment inspecting it during your absence but I was at the apartment after you came to me to ask me if I could help you carry your buggy down stairs from the 2nd floor apartment.
When I entered the apartment while you were present, I was really shocked and did not recognize our lovely apartment at all...the floor was covered with food, such as muesli, magazines and booklets, not only gay maps, which you most probably disapprove of, considering the comments you made and underlaying messages of us being childless...
The furniture is not run down at all since we have two brand new Barcelona chairs and new beds and bedding and a brand new carpet in the apartment when you stayed.
We had to remove the zebra carpet during your stay to clean it and cleaned the apartment in your absence because we were shocked about the state we found the apartment to be in just after one day.....there was Muesli all over the living room and kitchen and even under the bed....and there were yellow spots on the zebra skin carpet under the table, wet towels and napkins all over the bed and dipers laying around and every magazine laying everywhere in the apartment with ripped out pages...You did tell me u used it as a toy for your daughter but I replied that it was meant for guests to read....The dipers laying around had to probably cause the smell you were talking about since there is absolutely no smell from our bathroom and toilet area, unless you forget to flush it;) We have never had any complaints about this and there was no smell when you had left....
We removed the carpet and magazins and bookllets because we noticed it was better and more toddler proof in this way and we cherish our apartment. We still dont understand why you didnt bring your little girl any toys or even a teddy bear but only let her play with whatever was inside the apartment.
We love children and they are not to blame for anything....We never..had this experience with guests as you can see in all our TEN years of nice and lovely reviews and I feel its very unfair you wrote this review but as I mentioned before, I did not expect anything else since you were trying all the time to find something to get back to me for during your whole stay.
I am sorry you felt offended by me for pointing out the situation and for being honest. I did not mean to hurt you in any way or insult you.
We went out of our way to try and please you and by cleaning and making sure you had everything you wanted and to help carry your buggy down the stairs and have a place for you to park it during the day at the hotel next door just to make it easier for you. We are very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience but we are not sure why you rent a self catering apartment without bell boy instead of a hotel room where you can call room service or have your room cleaned for you every day.It would have suited you far better.
We did hear from your husbands secretary just last November, a month after your stay and she referred to us as a "wonderful place" when she asked me to write you another invoice.....So, I can only guess what moved you to write all this to hurt us.... We hope your future stays during your husbands business trips anywhere will be more pleasant and with all the service you are used to...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This apartment is ace! Right in the centre so everywhere is only about 5mins away. The stairs are steep but that's what makes it quirky. The owner christa makes you feel really welcomed and gives you tips where to go etc We will be back next year thank you.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

thank you very much for your nice review and we are very glad you had such a nice stay at La Vie En Rose.....we would love to see you again next year!!
all the best,
Christa and Yvon Harig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just two nights in the summer. Christa and Yvon left us a personalised map with recommendations of restaurants, bars and sights to see, and directions to all. The apple pie place was fabulous, we loved the oldest bar recommendation, and breakfast at Greenwoods did not disappoint! This is in a perfect location, I don't think you could get better. Beautiful apartment - do not hesitate to book - we would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

dear guests, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at La Vie En Rose so much and we thank you very much for staying !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This cute apartment is perfect for a few nights in the Dam. It's centrally located and easy to get to all areas by foot. The owners were very welcoming. The apartment was clean and quiet. The only downfall is there are two singles pushed together instead of a double bed,and steal stairs to climb ( but that is everywhere in Amsterdam. The apartment is nicely decorated as well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the upper apartment for 2 nights in mid-June. At approx £130 a night not cheap - but, for some reason, all accommodation in Amsterdam seems to be expensive. Breakfast was available as an optional extra, but we chose to fend for ourselves and bought in food from the supermarket just a few minutes walk away. The small kitchen area was well laid out with spotless plates, glasses, cups and cutlery provided, along with plenty of tea and coffee. The apartment itself was beautifully furnished and great for watching the world pass by outside. Not suitable for those with a mobility problem - stairs were very steep and narrow. The location of La Vie en Rose is perfect for exploring this lovely City - an easy 5 min walk from Central Station and close to all the sights. Good restaurants and several bars selling a wide selection of Belgian beers all within a short walking distance too. We only had one issue - more a safety one than anything else.....it was impossible to regulate the temperature of the shower. The water is not heated within the shower itself but comes from another source and, within a very few minutes, became scaldingly hot. I note that no other reviews mention this, so I have to assume that it was a one-off. However, it happened on both mornings. I left a note to this effect as we departed. So I hope the problem, whatever the cause, was corrected without delay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Owner at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guests, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay and the apartment!!!we thank you very much for your stay with us!
We are sorry you had a problem with the hot water...I am sorry you didnt come to us directly when you discovered the problem, as we Always mention at check in...we could have let it fixed right away and not after your stay...at the point we found out from your note.... We have fixed the problem right after your stay and thank you for mentioning it to us so no one else had to experience it...we hope to see you again in Amsterdam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#113 of 372 in Amsterdam
911 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#155 of 372 in Amsterdam
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
961 reviews
Centrum
Hot Spot Fascinating Bed and Breakfast
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 338 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vie en Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vie en Rose B&B

Address: Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $210 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vie en Rose B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic town house, B&B La Vie En Rose offers comfortable, bright-colored spacious apartments with free Wi-Fi in the center of Amsterdam. Dam Square and Central Station are half a minute away. La Vie En Rose's spacious apartments have a private entrance and private bath room and a kitchenette.All necessary utensils are provided.The apartments have 7 huge Windows with great city views! Anne Frank House, the Jordan area and Flower Market and most main attractions are a short walk away from B&B La Vie En Rose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Vie en Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vie En Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Vie En Rose Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing