We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brilliant!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vie en Rose B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Vie en Rose B&B
Ranked #35 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Brilliant!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This apartment is ace! Right in the centre so everywhere is only about 5mins away. The stairs are steep but that's what makes it quirky. The owner christa makes you feel really welcomed and gives you tips where to go etc We will be back next year thank you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
thank you very much for your nice review and we are very glad you had such a nice stay at La Vie En Rose.....we would love to see you again next year!!
all the best,
Christa and Yvon Harig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
110
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just two nights in the summer. Christa and Yvon left us a personalised map with recommendations of restaurants, bars and sights to see, and directions to all. The apple pie place was fabulous, we loved the oldest bar recommendation, and breakfast at Greenwoods did not disappoint! This is in a perfect location, I don't think you could get better. Beautiful apartment - do not hesitate to book - we would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Eigenaar at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
dear guests, we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at La Vie En Rose so much and we thank you very much for staying !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This cute apartment is perfect for a few nights in the Dam. It's centrally located and easy to get to all areas by foot. The owners were very welcoming. The apartment was clean and quiet. The only downfall is there are two singles pushed together instead of a double bed,and steal stairs to climb ( but that is everywhere in Amsterdam. The apartment is nicely decorated as well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank liza c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
341 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the upper apartment for 2 nights in mid-June. At approx £130 a night not cheap - but, for some reason, all accommodation in Amsterdam seems to be expensive. Breakfast was available as an optional extra, but we chose to fend for ourselves and bought in food from the supermarket just a few minutes walk away. The small kitchen area was well laid out with spotless plates, glasses, cups and cutlery provided, along with plenty of tea and coffee. The apartment itself was beautifully furnished and great for watching the world pass by outside. Not suitable for those with a mobility problem - stairs were very steep and narrow. The location of La Vie en Rose is perfect for exploring this lovely City - an easy 5 min walk from Central Station and close to all the sights. Good restaurants and several bars selling a wide selection of Belgian beers all within a short walking distance too. We only had one issue - more a safety one than anything else.....it was impossible to regulate the temperature of the shower. The water is not heated within the shower itself but comes from another source and, within a very few minutes, became scaldingly hot. I note that no other reviews mention this, so I have to assume that it was a one-off. However, it happened on both mornings. I left a note to this effect as we departed. So I hope the problem, whatever the cause, was corrected without delay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Owner at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear guests, we are glad you have enjoyed your stay and the apartment!!!we thank you very much for your stay with us!
We are sorry you had a problem with the hot water...I am sorry you didnt come to us directly when you discovered the problem, as we Always mention at check in...we could have let it fixed right away and not after your stay...at the point we found out from your note.... We have fixed the problem right after your stay and thank you for mentioning it to us so no one else had to experience it...we hope to see you again in Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
136 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Oh, what to say about this charming place without sounding cheesy? It is, without a doubt, the most lovely place I've ever been! It is not big or luxurious but has the most adorable atmosphere ever! Every little bit of the place seems to be thought to be cute. Yeah, cute is the word.
The host, Christa, is so nice and dedicated to their business.
They truly make you feel welcome!
Perfectly located, a few mins walk to Dam Square and all the other nice spots in the city!
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Everything is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaVlassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christa H, Owner at La Vie en Rose B&B, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Samantha! We are so glad to read your lovely review! thanks for sharing it with us and the rest of the world;) Its been a real pleasure to read! We would love to see you back in Amsterdam !! all the best, christa and Yvon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

June 2013 - A wonderful place to stay. The hospitality and friendliness of Christa and Yvon made us feel right at home. Christa gave us some good tips and suggestions of what to do and where to go in Amsterdam. This is a great place to stay, clean, modern and located near all major sights and public transport. Will definitively recommend to anyone. Thanks again Christa and Yvon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was so easy to find from the Central Station (just trace the route on Google Street View before leaving) and not far to walk if you are reasonably fit. Transport links are fantastic (and on time) and there is a wealth of interesting things to do and sights to see.

The Architecture in the area is so Dutch and you really feel like a local when you stay here. There is everything you need within half mile square radius. The food in the Indian restaurant across the road was fantastic, try it! An apple turnover and coffee for breakfast in the bakery next door was a treat.

The apartment was so comfortable we had to drag ourselves out and I totally agree with the 11th April comments.

Christa and Yvon were the perfect hosts welcoming us even at a later hour, providing a hand drawn map of the best places to eat and visit and topping up the coffee, milk and sugar when we arrived. They offered help and assistance at any time but no intrusion for the rest of the stay unless we needed something (which we didn't). There was a wealth of literature within the apartment about the local area, DVD's and books.There is enough of everything in the apartment for a 3 day stay and we never needed to top up on anything and it was spotlessly clean and tidy. The position was great and I could have sat at the window all day long and watched the world go by!

The Jordan area just through the alley at the side of the apartment building is beautiful and we spent a lot of time there. There is a market on a Saturday just a short walk into the Jordan with amazing stalls full of bread, cheese, meats, fungi, objet d'art and fresh cooked food stalls (market Street). The bridges and canals were just what I expected to see, the streets were quiet and the houseboats lovely.

All in all we loved this break and apartment! Thank you we had a lovely relaxing 3 days even in this bustling city thanks to the hard work of Christa and Yvon and their lovely apartment.

Room Tip: I think I would try the upper apartment next time it looked very nice and the view might have been e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMMT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#19 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vie en Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vie en Rose B&B

Property: La Vie en Rose B&B
Address: Nieuwezijdsvoorburgwal 90 B, 1012 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vie en Rose B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historic town house, B&B La Vie En Rose offers comfortable, bright-colored spacious apartments with free Wi-Fi in the center of Amsterdam. Dam Square and Central Station are half a minute away. La Vie En Rose's spacious apartments have a private entrance and private bath room and a kitchenette.All necessary utensils are provided.The apartments have 7 huge Windows with great city views! Anne Frank House, the Jordan area and Flower Market and most main attractions are a short walk away from B&B La Vie En Rose ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Vie en Rose B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vie En Rose Hotel Amsterdam
La Vie En Rose Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing