We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You would be mad to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Prince

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Prince
Ranked #151 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“You would be mad to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have been home for just an hour (not even unpacked) and I feel compelled to write about our time at Petit Prince, it was so exceptional. We stayed in the apartment on the 1st floor (not the loft which is the floor above). From the moment we arrived and found Menno standing by the front door waiting for us, the welcome and service we received throughout our stay was superb. The apartment is gorgeous and so stylishly done. A sitting-room with dining area at the front (with roaring fire, Bose speakers, candles galore and beautiful fresh flowers everywhere) and floor to ceiling windows with amazing views over the canal and the chic '9 streets' area (read Greenwich Village but prettier). There is a small kitchen area with everything one could need and a fridge stocked with beer, wine, juice, Coke etc as well as copious amounts of delicious deli food + everything you could want for breakfast - fresh fruit, yogurts, milk, eggs, bacon, croissant, bread + a Nespresso coffee machine. The bedroom has plenty of cupboard space, an amazingly comfy 5'6" double bed and a large flat screen TV. Finally a very large bathroom with bath and shower and twin basins (with yet more orchids and fresh flowers everywhere) We are fussy customers but the owners had thought of everything and we just loved having a place of our own which soon felt like home. We were equipped with phone numbers in case we wanted anything (which we didn't) and Menno very unobtrusively checked in with us each day to ensure we were happy. We've decided we never want to stay in a city hotel again - this is definitely the way forward ! Did we miss having the services of a concierge, the forced smiles from receptionists, the bills every time we wanted a cup of tea or glass of wine, the turn-down service, housekeepers knocking on the door ?? NOT ONE BIT, we just loved the privacy, the freedom and feeling like locals.
The apartment is also located in possibly THE most convenient and delightful part of the city - you are right in the heart of things and we walked everywhere. There are stunning shops and restaurants within a stone's throw, it's 3 mins on foot from Anne Frank's house, 10 mins from the main shopping street and 15 mins from the Rijksmuseum (don't miss).
I would not recommend Petit Prince for a family - its very much a place for a romantic stay for a couple. The owner Charles has several properties in the city (they all look stunning) and when you email him to enquire about availability, he personally replies with full details about all his available properties and you can take your pick depending on your requirements. His approach to service and determination that you will have a perfect stay is extraordinary. Hotels around the world could learn a lot from Charles. We've never before stayed somewhere so perfect. Don't hesitate - just book it !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gilly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in the loft apartment as an anniversary treat and were not disappointed. The Location, service and overall experience was fantastic and we could easily have stayed longer. Olga and Meeno were very helpful and daily treats including champagne, cakes and a fridge stocked to bursting capacity were a welcome surprise! We felt truly pampered and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The owner of Petit prince sure know how to pamper their guests. The service is amazing and the attention to details like candles, fresh flowers and fireplace are really lovely. I ordered an apple pie for the breakfast which was excellent. The place is very clean and perfect. The location of the place is perfect with all the major places nearby. The selection of wines is also worth mentioning. I had a pleasant stay and I hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed with a boyfriend on the top floor Petit Prince apartment on a cold January weekend and I can not tell you how wonderful it was. I have already told all my friends to stay there when they visit Amsterdam instead of a hotel. We got all the information we could possibly need at checkin and then they left us alone except for daily check-ins when they left awesome baked goods for us. The apartment has tons of light but we also lowered the blinds and slept in a few mornings. Every feature was perfect from the flowers to the fireplace to the outdoor patio. The bed was totally comfortable and the kitchen was stocked with anything you could imagine. Most of all the apartment had an amazing romance factor that few places can beat. I would definitely recommend this place for any kind of special date or romantic event (engagement, proposal, reunion) for two people because the place just automatically lends to it. You definitely don't want to get out of bed or off the floor pillows.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austxmtp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Everything written is absolute truth! The room is very nice, the view is fine, chimney, fridge full of food and drinks, nice music...
Charles really puts great efforts to make you feel very welcome and comfortable! There were several very nice surprises like an apple pie or cheese cakes... In the end we thought, that Charles can read our minds, because anything we wished, was there the next day:)
One thing to know about the apartments - it is situated close to a church, which rings bells each 15 minutes. By times I wished it would stop ringing. That's maybe the only remark I can share.
We are really thankful to Charles and his colleagues!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Petit Prince is my all time favourite : a warm welcome by Charles, and a very comfortable place to stay. The apartment is on walking distance of all important museums and has very nice view at the park. It is really nicely and modern decorated, with a cosy fireplace, and has a fine, clean and neat shower and lovely soft bed. The delivered breakfast in the morning is a delicious and luxurious experience, I could get used to, even as all those tasty things in the refrigerator you may use. In Petit Prince I felt like a princess, it was perfect. I surely will come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. This place is a true gem. The view and location can not be beat. Our reservation was just hours before our arrival and it was if Charles had been planning weeks for our arrival. The kitchen was fully stocked with delicious snacks and apartment was spotless. Charles spent over an hour with us when we arrived going over everything as well as his full Amsterdam travel guide of must dos while visiting. We will defiantly stay here again when we return.

Ps. Charles makes killer apple pies. I would make this a requirement of your booking to have one delivered each morning & maybe afternoon as well :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#38 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Prince

Property: Petit Prince
Address: Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Prince Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing