We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Prince

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Prince
Ranked #146 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

When you get to the apartment after a day of traveling you really need a comfortable place like this. There is the heat of the fireplace, and scenic Amsterdam just outside of your window. Perfect assistance as well. definitely a place I would recommend. Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolasVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we spent four nights at petit prince and loved every moment from Charles's fabulous recommendations, the tasteful decoration of the apartment, the overflowing fridge, the coffee machine, the fantastic canal view, the unbeatable location and best of all the lovely apple pie that Iggy left for us one afternoon. We felt comfortable and spoilt. Would love to come back again!
well worth blowing the holiday budget on!!
R, M & K melbourne

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Iggy provided all the things we need. The atmosphere of the appartment was excellent. Terrace, fireplace, decoration, style of modern items was perfect. Living in a typival Dutch appartment face to the canal and street was amazing. If you have kids and need a vacation with your husband/wife alone, this is an excellent choice to make you feel like you're at the university and living with your partner. Home made apple pie was delicious.”

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Sophie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 5 days, and it was just was perfect! From the first moment we felt very welcome. The apartment is stunning, the location perfect and the fridge was well stocked! We have been to Amsterdam before, but never enjoyed our stay so much as at this apartment! Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: Perfect loaction and great service!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Ben, it was a pleasure meeting you and to talk with you about art. We share the same passion. I feel happy you had such a good time. Please contact me again for any other time you like to visit and count on a favourable return guest price + arrangement. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Our second visit to Petit Prince in the last year. Amsterdam itself is a great city, but I will say that one of the main reasons we came back so soon is this apartment. It's in the best location in Amsterdam. It is clean, safe and generously provisioned. Charles, the owner is very hands on and was always available for questions. He popped in regularly to check on us- on one occasion bringing Puccini chocolates ( google them ) and on another night silky, fresh nieuw herring. He knows the city cold and his restaurant recommendations were spot on. Iggy, Charles' associate is a wonderful, warm guy who also stops by daily with treats. Gilbert, the cleaning man is also very sweet always with a big smile. This place is a winner and very hard to leave when your time is up. We hope to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Petit Prince apartment is lovely - warm (and easy to top up with the fire when we came in from sightseeing), cosy and well-equipped. It is in a great location on the canal, easy walking distance to all the attractions but quiet at night. We spent hours just watching cyclists coming and going from the huge picture window.
Charles and Iggy looked after us extremely well, on hand should we have any questions or problems, and kept the fridge stocked up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchkat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello Katy and David, great to see your wonderful comment, thank you ! I also like to thank for your kind words in the guest book. Your tips on highlights are helpful and I will pass them on to new guests. I feel happy that you also discovered that simply sitting in the apartment and watching out on the canal and bridge is already a fun thing to do ! :) Please contact me any next time directly and I'll be happy to give an attractive rate for you as a returning guest. Kindly, Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just back from the Petit Prince we had a very warm welcome from Iggy and Charles was just so helpful with information of places to see and his favorite restaurants, the apartment was very well stocked with hams and cheeses and sweet nibbles including wine. We did not have the special deal on foods that Charles offered as our intention was to eat out. But as it turned out my husband wasn't well so we only managed afternoon excursions so we ate in the apartment. Amsterdam is a great place to walk around, lots of coffee houses and would recommend the Canal tours. Didn't make Anne Frank's as the queues were really long very time we went past. I guess the only downside are the pigeons that are everywhere and like to stomp about in the early hours of the morning. Overall, would recommend this lovely apartment especially at this time of the year as you can enjoy the fire and candles.

Room Tip: Loft was great except for the pigeons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Petit Prince, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello Margareth and Kelvin, thank you for your lovely comments. Together with Iggy it was a pleasure to look after you during your stay. Pigeons are all over in city and of and on on the chimney pipe and on the roof. Good chance that any other time they won't be there and that you won't hear the sound of pigeons. I feel happy that you had a chance to do a lot of discovering and sight seeing. Please come back again. You may try one of the other apartments I offer like PARK MANSION or PENTHOUSE or GARDEN SUITE. Contact me directly and I'll be happy to give you a favourable offer since you are going to be a returning guest ! :) Kindly, Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#38 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,508 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Prince

Property: Petit Prince
Address: Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Prince Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing