We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petit Prince

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Petit Prince
Ranked #146 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Petit Prince is a beautifully decorated apartment, situated right on the canal and within walking distance to some of the best shops and restaurants in town! The apartment was well stocked with all sorts of food, snacks and drinks (we even came back to the apartment one day to find a home made apple pie... it was simply DELICIOUS!) We stayed at the loft for 3 days but wish we could have stayed there for more. Our hosts made every effort to ensure that our stay was comfortable and insisted on meeting our every needs large or small. If you are planning a trip to Amsterdam, make sure to check out the Petit Prince (especially if you are on romantic getaway).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lains1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Petit Prince is a very stylish apartment with beautiful view and conveniently lcoated. It is the best hotel we ever statyed. When we looking out the window at the beautiful night canal, sitting on the coach with the warm lovely music, we wish we can stay here for a longer time. What a wonder place to stay! Thank you Charles for your warm welcome, candles, wines, home-made apple pies, fresh fruits, flowers, great restaurant recommendations ... and also Beatriz for your kindness, cheese, daily notes that all make us feel very warm and like at home. Hope we can come back sometimes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalieku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a very special stay in our beloved Amsterdam for my wife, my son and me. Charles and Beatriz took care of us like we were family. The apartment was perfectly located, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The kitchenette was positively bursting with treats. If one had wanted to, one could have snacked at the apartment the whole visit. At night, with the candles flickering in the hurricane lanterns, one had a very special ambience indeed. Beatriz, a true gem, checked in with us every day. I have stayed at " self-catering" apartments elsewhere and have never experienced this level of care and concern. We always felt very safe at the apartment and it was nice and quiet at night. Truly, we didn't want to leave. Oh well, hopefully there will be a next trip. Thank you Charles and Beatriz.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMBPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing!
What a wonderful place to stay.
Great location, with a beautiful view from the window...
Charles and Beatriz were always very kind and helpful.
Every evening there was a nice surprise waiting for us: good wine, homemade apple pie, chocolates!
We loved it!
Everything was really perfect and staying at Petit Prince was the best part of our trip to Europe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msbiagioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you are looking for a real Amsterdam feel then this is it. The feeling of having breakfast whilst overlooking the water and watching bikes ride past. It does seem expensive however a lot of your food is included such as wine, cheese, breakfast goods etc.

Breatriz who looks after the units for the owner was a very big help and very friendly. She took the time to explain anything you wanted and gave some great recommendations!! Thank you again Beatriz!!

We had stayed at another a few weeks later for 1 night which was near central which is very busy. This did not compare at all to this place. We are already planning our trip back an it will be here if we do.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydtraveler1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Staying at Petit Prince was a special experience. We've been in Amsterdam 3 times this year, but this time it was really special, and mostly because of the apartment, the location and Charles ability to make it special.
The Apartment is fully equipped with all your needs. Food and beverage are top quality, hand made cakes and chocolate are part of the deal if you choose the Luxury Package (It worth every penny :).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Oh, you know the old story – a little Prince falls out of the sky and embarks on a mission spanning self-discovery and universal truth. He experiences good times and trying times and life lessons come and go. He touches and is touched by the people and things he encounters and the journey is of an indeterminate time in a world of wonder and ultimate enlightenment when the outer trappings are shown to be insignificant in the wake of the inner senses that drive our actions and from which we derive joy. Well, against that background story, thank heavens we have brought the little guy up to speed a little for the purposes of this weekender else boy how shallow would have felt while revelling in the lavish trappings of the Petit Prince loft apartment? Shallow but joyous would be the correct answer to that one. Does Petit Prince live up to the hype? You bet your falling stars it does! I had booked the Loft Apartment to break up the journey from Australia to the UK and needed to shake off some travel dust. I had arranged to meet my sister there for the weekend. She arrived a day earlier and , in the manner of big sisters, had totally commandeered the bed in the loft, but from the time I arrived there the next morning until the moment we left, the Petit Prince felt so much more than a mere apartment. It’s hard to put my finger on it entirely. As has been said on this site many times before, the apartment is located in the banks of the beautiful Prinsengracht canal in a superb part of Amsterdam within easy walking distance of many points of interest. We did the half day walking tour suggested by Charles and it was great. The loft was clean and pleasantly decorated. Let’s face it, when you’ve just stepped off a 23 hour flight, a darkly tiled bathroom fits the bill perfectly. The fridge was literally bursting with cheese and cold meats, breakfast feasts, afternoon antipasto delights and suppertime treats. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, even the famous apple pie. And then there were wine and beers aplenty which in our case, accompanied a few well-appointed tasting plates and some afternoon sun while we caught up lazily on the large decking area out back. But here’s the thing, even with such lavishness all around us, this place always remained and felt like a home. We were actually cared for by the attentive owner, Charles, and his manager Beatriz. Questions were answered, any concerns allayed and options explored. In fact, it’s that that made this a particularly special place. The apartment stands on its own as a great place and location to spend time. But it’s the effort put in by Charles and his team to enhance our time there, that’s the essential here that’s ‘invisible to the eye’. And yet it’s so transforming. Thanks and well done guys. I, for one, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2012Brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#138 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#68 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#38 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,509 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
Heemskerk Suites- Adults only
#52 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Prince

Property: Petit Prince
Address: Prinsengracht 232, 1016HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Petit Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Prince Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing