We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Ranked #234 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Unusual location, out in the old dockyard but right next to the free Ij Ferry to Central Station so a river trip to start and end the day....bonus.
Simple but pleasant cabin with amazing views down the river [and potential sunrise/sunsets]
Good breakfast, certainly enough selection
Great value in an interesting setting surrounded by historic vessels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    140
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
34
154
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our stay. It has (as expected) small rooms but they are clean and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The ferries that run between the dock and the station are regular and reliable.

Room Tip: rooms on the dock side have a view of and old sailing ship.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortBurd70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here for 2 nights. There is ample space for car parking literally 3 mins walk, its no longer free but still very cheap for amsterdam (11 euros per 24 h). If you are driving and arriving late in the evening please email the botel to ask if there any events nearby as it is now quite popular for concerts/festivals and some roads are blocked. There is now a few bars nearby some of them are also boats. Shower is very small but rook ok size, views are great across the river or across the harbour to other boats. Breakfast included, spread is not bad at all with bacon, sausages, croissants, youghurt, cereals, toast, coffee, orange juice etc
The only drawback is the rooms looking old, no coffe/tea making facilities, no issues with noise but rooms are not very soundproof, breakfast can get very busy, they need to add another toaster or ideally an additional area for food. I would recommend for the experience but especially for the price!

Room Tip: its now non smoking however email the hotel and ask to be placed away from the bar because of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I noticed another review that said you get what you pay for........well I'd actually argue that you possibly get less than you pay for.

I'll start with the negative so that we can leave on a high. I think the ship, rooms, restaurant and whole location is very tired and in need of refurbishment, especially as it has the words "luxury rooms available" displayed right down the side of the ship!

The cabins were very small and very basic. However in fairness, they were clean and very warm with great hot water for showers and a safe that works out at only 3 euros.

The staff are all very friendly, welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as nice as it can be so a big thanks and special mention to them.

The breakfast was very basic but it did the job. You're not going to find a top chef coming to cook here, but you do get what you pay for. It'll keep you going until you get out and find somewhere more suitable to eat.

There's a free shuttle ferry that runs regularly throughout the day, until 3am, at which point I think it's replaced by a free shuttle bus service that goes from the pier to Centraal Station.

So if you are just looking for a basic hotel with a little character, then I'd certainly stay again, but I'd have a good look elsewhere first before I went back, but I would.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and it has been fine on both occasions. It is in a good, quiet location and the ferry service is excellent. The rooms are small but I wasn't expecting anything bigger to be honest, after all it is a converted boat! The breakfast was good, exactly what you would expect. The bathroom is very small (definitely no partying in the shower) but it was clean and functional. It isn't a 5 star hotel, but it doesn't claim to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaynew1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for only one night thank god. The rooms are tiny, smell but the bed was comfortable. The shower is a joke and when you flush the toilet amazingly someone else's faeces would somehow back-flow to our toilet, just kept happening. There is a young guy at the bar who is the rudest, most ignorant service person I have had the displeasure of dealing with. Price is good but I'd recommend pitching a tent before staying here. One upside - there is a fantastic restraunt - Kanteine near the hotel

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed a week and found the Botel to be clean,convenient and met our needs for a competitively priced hotel convenient for the city centre. No complaints.
Free ten minute ferry to Central station every half hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquitania321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#273 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#213 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Property: Botel
Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing