We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay. Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Ranked #234 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay. Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed a week and found the Botel to be clean,convenient and met our needs for a competitively priced hotel convenient for the city centre. No complaints.
Free ten minute ferry to Central station every half hour.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquitania321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    140
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
34
154
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overall good value but inability/unwillingness to deal with what should have been a minor problem let it down considerably.

Hotel and rooms were generally clean and tidy, breakfast basic but adequate and location beside ferry to Centraal Station made it almost as convenient as a City centre hotel.

Would have been very satisfied but on arrival discovered that the shower wasn't working properly. Reported it to reception every day we were there and was assured would be looked at but they never did, meaning we couldn't have a proper shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package with easy jet, after arriving at schipol and taking the train to Amsterdam central it is a 15 ferry ride to where the boat is berthed. Check in was fast and efficient, and the room ( although small ) was clean and the bed was very comfortable.The rooms are cleaned daily and the bed's remade. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of hot and cold choices. The staff are friendly and are a great font of knowledge when it comes exploring the city. If you want a 5 star hotel then this is not for you, however if you want a base to explore the city that is clean and inexpensive then this should tick all the boxes.I will definatly book this hotel on my next visit to Amsterdm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordelpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zeland
Level Contributor
300 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booking this over the internet was easy as 1,2 3. and getting there by public transport was as equally easy. A short walk from the main station and harboured in the main harbour this is a 'different' motel to say the least.
The beds were great, the sheets clean and pressed and the room an ok size for a short visit. the TV was comprehensive and the service good.
The price was on the high side I thought, but given it's location and easy of access to all the main areas, worth it.
There was some noise at night from other guests reurning but it didn't last all night so that was ok.
I'd go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a lovely stay on the Botel, staff were very friendly and the breakfast had plenty of choice on offer. The room wasn't very large but for us this was not a problem as we went to explore Amsterdam not spend our time in the room. Shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. We were on 4th floor with lovely view so cannot complain at all. We would recommend a meal on the pollux boat lovely meal and very nice people with good service and wasn't expensive. We will be going back later in year and will definitely be booking the Botel. The money we paid for 5 nights on the boat we felt was very good value.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor had nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseandHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My first hotel I stayed in was the Botel which was anchored at the NDSM pier. It surprisingly moved about more than I thought it would. On one occasion I was having a shower and the towels were horizontal! The botel wasn't as glamorous as I thought it would be and the rooms were rather small, but overall I enjoyed my stay on it.

I suppose the only downside is that you have/had to catch a ferry from centraal to get to it. If you fancy a late night, you have to get a different ferry and wait for a minibus to pick you up.

Wouldn't stay on the botel again but glad I have had "the experience"

Room Tip: I suppose a higher floor would be better than the ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signorwhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

On arrival I felt dismay at being so far out of the centre and having to catch a ferry running each half hour.The room smelt a little of old socks,but hey.
The Botel is situated amongst the old industrial units of the shipyard.The area is being slowly regenerated and in a few years may be the Camden Lock of North Amsterdam.
There are old boats,an old sub and other interesting things dotted around the quay.
There are two bars nearby,Plleke and Northern Lights.Both serve food and a great selection of beers.Both have awesome sound systems and play good music.
The area looks desolate at first but is a fascinating mix of installation artworks made from reclaimed industrial waste,with huge cranes looming in the background.
It is just sooooo cool.
So yes,I would go again.I would probably recommend early summer.

Room Tip: Upper decks have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#273 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#213 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Property: Botel
Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing