We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel out of the busy city”
Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Ranked #216 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I choose this hotel because of the price and the idea of staying on a boat. The rooms are dated but we had a comfy king size bed so that was good. But you can't expect much with the price you pay at £70 a night for 2 people. Breakfast was okay. The day staff were really nice and friendly, the woman at night wasn't as helpful. You could slightly feel the boat moving so if you get seasick i wouldn't recommend it. There is boat that takes you from central station to the botel. If you walk out of the station at the back near platform 15, cross over the road, turn left, go past subway and theres 4 ferry points, you need to one furthest to the left next to the bikes called 'NDSM werf' and it takes about 10 mins. I would consider going back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 392 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this accomodation and thought what a lovely idea having a static boat to stay in. It was great value comoared to some of the places we had staed around the Netherlands. The rooms were adequite, clean and comfortable. The breakfast had everything you could need and the coffee was the best of the whole holiday. The staff were excellent all round, lovely greeting when we arrived, friendly bar man, not a thing was too much trouble for them . There was a ferry taxi free of charge that very regular into Central station which was a brilliant idea and allowed us both to have a drink instead of having to drive. Would definitely recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbiteyes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for a 4 night Amsterdam visit. The rooms and decor in general is quite dated but for the price you shouldn't expect the ritz. The breakfast was continental but was sufficient enough to start the day. Located close to centre, it takes you about 10 minutes to get home from the square cafes and bars. Can't see how people can moan about the place when the price you pay is so very competitive. You get what you pay for and this place does the job.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eoin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed for two nights as part of a group. The rooms are very small - cabin like - but very clean and airy. There were plenty of towels and hot water but you do need your own toiletries. Breakfast was very good, again in a nicely decorated airy room, and the staff were cheerful and helpful. We enjoyed the trip over to the "mainland" on the free ferry, but you have to aware that it's not exactly in the centre of Amsterdam nightlife. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the bottom floor at water level where the rooms are cheaper. But I guess that they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My sister & I were looking for somewhere cheap to stay while we explored Amsterdam. This was within our price range and unusual. We were away from the bright light and it was peaceful. The ferries were regular and the city was only 10 mins away. Would use again if I went back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklyeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Myself & my wife have just returned from a two night stay on the botel we both said we'd stay there again.
The rooms are basic but they are clean and do have a bathroom, ok it is a little small but I'm 6ft 3 & had no problem using the shower at all.
The breakfast was more than adequate we found it set us up nicely for the day.
The hotel bar was good fun at night with a good crowd in and were surprised to find the prices cheaper than a lot of the bars in
central Amsterdam.
We would definitely use the Botel again it's just a short free ferry ride from central station it was very easy to find just come out of the station and look for the NDSM-werf ferry
In summary yes the rooms are basic but really you are only using it as a base to explore Amsterdam so aren't in the room that much just to sleep & wash so ideal cheap break in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbazNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked 1 nights stay in the botel, we booked late and when we arrived they didn't have our booking, the receptionist was under pressure as it was busy but he dealt with us straight away. Our cabins were on the bottom floor, the Bathroom was tiny but had all we wanted a toilet and shower. The free ferry to central station is excellent as we had a car and parking was free at the dock. The bar has a pool table and the barman was very nice. breakfast was simple. Would go back again as it a cheap and cheerful place to stay not to far from central Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c22b2v4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#164 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#287 of 374 in Amsterdam
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,237 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,881 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#102 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing