We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accomadation would recommend to anyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Botel
Ranked #237 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good accomadation would recommend to anyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for Four nights in Jan and we found the staff very helpful (we found the evening staff the most helpful but the others were goodas well) and the rooms very clean! The breakfast is quite good you have a good selection for most tastes! We stayed on the 4th floor and yes the boat moves not alot but remember when booking you are booking a BOTEL not a HOTEL! Also the link from the Botel to the station is very reliable and quick. We also booked this through hotels4u.com and this saved us over £100 on the price of booking the Botel I would recommend this to anyone wanting to book a room here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toprealreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    139
    117
    42
    20
See reviews for
34
153
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here 22-24 December, got a voucher deal off ebay so it was quite cheap thought I would give it a whirl. Got a taxi from the airport, he charged us 45 EURO. Usually its around 60 EURO but if you speak to them and rustle up a deal, 40 - 45 is the cheapest they will go. The train is around 10 euro, so if you have 2-3 people with you, a taxi is better as it takes you directly to the botel.

Arrived early at 11am, check in wasnt till 2pm but the guy on reception gave us our room on arrival which was kind and unusual. They also had a luggage room where you could store your luggage if your room wasnt ready, very handy not many hotels have this facility. We stayed on the 1st floor in a triple room - adequate for our needs, bed shower TV and heating. It was kind of small but the room was for sleep only so this wasnt a problem, beds OK, bathroom very small water gets out when you get a shower. Loved the little ducks swimming past the window, they love doritos! The hotel was also nice and clean, didnt have any issues here. Also the boat DOES NOT rock. its steady. it may seem rocky if you're on a top floor so try and get a 1st/ground room.

We got given a free ferry pass, the ferry terminal (to central amsterdam) is a 2-3 minute walk from the hotel and comes every 30 minutes until midnight, sometimes 1am. its a great little service. Didnt get the shuttle bus, wasnt out later than 1am. Amsterdam seems quite a scary place the longer the night goes on, wouldnt recommend staying out after this time

To sum up - staff friendly, helpful, check in was easy, check out was easy. a good little place / base to stay for a weekend or few day visit. I will go back if I visit amsterdam again for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mocha_upo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, and it was four nights too many. The room was very, very basic and the bathroom non - existent. Breakfast wasn't much either, hotel staff were rude (especially the Chinese girl on reception). If you like back packing and just somewhere to doss then fine, but it is not a cheap way to do it! Plus the ferry didn't run very often at weekends and once in the centre it is a long way to go back! The best bit of the break was leaving theboat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

BASIC BASIC BASIC. If your going Amsterdam with plans to bring a prostitute back to your room this hotel is perfect. Decor is basic and peeling. Rooms are cramped and confined. Basic room with hardly any space to store anything so travel light. Breakfast was OK but nothing to write home about. Got me through until lunch time. As its a floating hotel the room and ship does rock about a lot so anyone with motion sickness avoid. Only good side was WiFi which only worked in the bathroom surprisingly :/. If you want somewhere cheap and close to the red light district that your just going to sleep in for a night or 2 this is perfect. For anything else id go somewhere else.

Room Tip: They are all the same. Get the biggest your can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DominicWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Botel for 3 nights, the only draw back that we had was we booked online for a double room and when we got there it was a twin. We asked if we could change but unfortunately there were no spare rooms, this didnt really matter though as we only used the room to sleep in. The weather was quite cold but the heating in the Botel was amazing, I actually had to get up during the night to turn it off as it was too hot!!! Beds and towels were changed daily which was a bonus too!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas196709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Save your money, and spend a little more on something better, this place is a nightmare. Small rooms, small shower and for the price I payed. Never again. Can't sit on toliet as everything is ontop another; Also location isn't the best (20 minutes on a boat to the Central Station). No decoration, sways so for people that have motion sickness AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlekNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and i stayed here as part of a tour group for 2 nights in September.
The room was clean although a little small but i think thats fairly normal for Amsterdam. The bathroom was tiny and when we had a shower there was water all over the bathroom floor.
Bed was comfy though and breakfast was nice. There is also free wifi!
It is a bit out of town however the ferries come pretty regularly which makes it really easy to get around.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rf88wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#165 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Botel Zebra
Botel Zebra
#279 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#227 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#178 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel

Property: Botel
Address: Oosterdokskade 2-4 1011 Ae ., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 345
Also Known As:
Botel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing