We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A well located, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #141 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A well located, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

For a reasonably priced hotel, this place was clean and comfortable though clearly older, in a great location. It is attached to a hostel, but that is a separate part of the structure. The disadvantage of being close to a hostel is that the breakfast can be quite busy and the luggage room, while convenient, gets quite full at times. The location is really good--close to the museums and restaurants, as well as a grocery store right around the corner. The room itself, while somewhat dated, has good climate control as well as updated bathroom--we were new to Europe, but we didn't have any trouble using anything in the room. I couldn't get the power adapter that I brought to work, but the front desk has some for a deposit of ten euros. The front desk personnel was always very helpful; we used the laundry service offered by the hotel, but the front desk even offered us an alternative that may have been cheaper. They always had the pad of maps handy to show the best way of getting somewhere. One other possible downside that didn't affect us much but someone might want to consider is that there are a few preschools on the street where the kids are outside playing during much of the day--lively and fun, but rather noisy. We weren't around much of the day, so it didn't matter much to us, but as we were in the bottom level room, we noticed that the noise came into the room. I liked the breakfast, which offered an assortment, but be sure to prepay for it if you think you might want it because it is cheaper. There's a wonderful cafe, Bagels and Beans, just around the corner, so there are other nearby options. The coffee came from one of those ubiquitous espresso machines where a patron presses his/her selection, and I wasn't crazy about this, as Americano coffee is just watered-down espresso. It also seemed that the machine was overworked and needed a lot of tending. I'm a coffee addict, so you can probably tell this was important to me. One final note is that the wireless Internet connection worked very well, something that we need because we work online. Hotel Van Gogh isn't a mint-on-the-pillow kind of place--lacking some amenities--but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaMarDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    388
    144
    43
    37
See reviews for
71
133
148
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights in a shared room- 6 people altogether. The place is relatively new and very modern, looking almost like new. The cleanliness was fantastic and all the facilities were in good working order. On the negative side I found that the staff were not as helpful or warm as some of the other places we stayed, and there was no communal area in which to meet other people. The atmosphere was non existent. Also, we found that the rates were rather expensive relative to other establishments in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBZCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel Van Gogh, located in a side street a two minute walk from the Van Gogh Museum and the Stedelijk (contemporary art) museum, and just down the street from the Rijksmuseum (Dutch National Museum), Diamond Museum, House of Bols Experience, and the Coster Diamond shop (which also offers tours), is a great place to stay if you're on a budget. It's clean, the all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast is 5 euro/pp.

It is not, however, a deluxe hotel in any way. There are a number of hostel-style tourists at the hotel, so there's always a bustle of backpackers in the lobby. To be fair, unlike much of the rest of young person Amsterdam, the smell of marijuana was notably absent, even if we opened the balcony doors on our hotel room - people weren't even smoking outside.

Amenities in the room are basic - the "double" bed was two separate mattresses (very soft, if you like that) pushed together, soap is dispensed both near the sink and in the shower by a wall-mounted squeeze bottle, and the only trash can is mounted against the bathroom wall and can't be moved. The front desk is friendly, but they are not trained to be concierges, so they cannot tell you things like the location of a nearby pharmacy or when things open or close. They can, however, order you a cab.

One final note about the Museumplein. It's not the best location if you like bar-hopping or clubbing or finding a quick place to eat but don't know where you want, because you'll be walking a quarter mile to a half mile to where more of those establishments are grouped. Plan accordingly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjcthatisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

I really can’t say enough nice things about this hotel/hostel. Most importantly, the young staff was professional, caring, and extremely courteous. All travel related needs/requests were met with full attention and kindness. The breakfast was wonderful and handy before a busy day of exploration. Again, caring staff members added to the morning pleasure. My husband and I were traveling with two of our grown children. We needed an affordable, safe, clean place to stay and the Van Gogh was perfect. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, and everything was very clean. While the youth hostel has shared bathrooms, we requested a room with a private bath. Every day, housekeeping left our room in order with fresh linens and toiletries. In addition, the hotel’s location is perfect for exploring many areas of Amsterdam via foot or other public transportation. We were pleased that there were many places to purchase treats nearby, including a large grocery store. Great job, Van Gogh! You made our trip extra special.

Room Tip: This is a hotel/youth hostel, so be sure to understand what type of room/bathroom you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1caringmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My colleague and I stayed here for a night before leaving Amsterdam. I was a bit nervous- seemed like both of us (around 50-60) were a bit out of our element as there were lots of significantly younger folks....we expected a noisy night but it was just fine. Our room overlooked the back gardens and was fairly quiet. Beds were comfy, bathroom fine, room had a safe. The location was great and if you are planning to visit the museums it is perfect. Breakfast was a good deal and lots of selection ( we were early!). The staff tried hard to fix a little mixup about the reservation and came up with a creative, but acceptable, solution. I would recommend-likely a better deal than many.

Room Tip: ask for one not overlooking the main square- overlooking the back gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMerlopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at Van Gogh Hostel for 4 nights, and it is definitely one of the best hostels we've ever stayed in. The dorms are spacious and clean, and the beds are great. The bathrooms are very luxurious for a hostel, and the staff bring fresh towels, when you need them. There is no kitchen, but there is a fridge that guests can use during their stay.The Location is pretty much perfect, just a few minutes away from Vondelpark and Rijksmuseum, and still it's in walking distance from the center of Amsterdam. The only small downside to the hostel is the less than enthusiastic staff in the lobby, but nonetheless the hostel is great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C Udengaar... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Volkshotel
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#111 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#256 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#70 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing