We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #139 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belgrade
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights, and it was a very pleasant stay. The location is so good, just across the famous Van Gogh museum and minutes walk from Rijks museum. Peaceful and safe, away from the usual hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. You can use trams and buss (the station is in front of the hotel) or even walk for about 20 min. to the Central station. Rooms are not very big, but there is everything you need there. Nice comfy bed, flat TV, kettle, and nice bathroom. Room was cleaned every day. I recommend a breakfast, it is very good and it costs only 5 E. Stuff was very helpful.

Room Tip: I can recommend room 303 because it is very quiet and has a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    376
    140
    42
    36
See reviews for
69
129
143
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Clean beds, clean bathrooms, good location, pretty much all you need to know about the place.
It is great and they have breakfat for relatively cheap as well. As a traveler on a budget, it is a great deal, especially with the dorms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHendrikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were fantastic recently renovated and were very comfortable! One issue we had was that our room was ground floor right next to a Kindy so no sleep ins for us! Another let down was the lack of social areas. There was no bar or the likes of just a dinning area where you could pay for breakfast that had a tv.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Definitely the nicest hostel that we've stayed in when you're considering the quality of the rooms and cleanliness. We were travelling in a group of 7, but were split 3-2-2. I stayed in a 8 person room, which was very nice, but noisy. The room had a private bath that was nicer than one in a lot of hotels that I have stayed in. They provide towels (helpful when you forgot a towel like I did), and each bed has its own respective safe and power outlets that are inches from your bed. For some other amenities that they provide beyond the room: they offer breakfast (around 5 euros) and on-site bike rentals (8 euros for 3 hours, plus a 50 dollar cash deposit that will be returned upon bringing back the bikes in safe condition).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElToro94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel has limited facilities (no bar, no gym, etc.) but does offer comfortable and well-equipped rooms, excellent customer service, and good value for money - and is a great base for a family leisure break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Was a brilliant hostel/hotel. Our room was spacious with a brilliant bathroom. Large telly with good channels.
It's location is right beside the Van Gogh museum and is about a 20 minute walk to dam square. Nice quiet area.
But there is a school out the front and if they are out playing you will know!! Very loud!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paddymc424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here in May with six of my friends and we are all students so we were looking for something on the cheap side. We booked one private room for six people with private bath, which for a hostel is quite luxurious and it cost us 120€ for 5 days and 4 nights. The rooms are simple and VERY clean, which was great. The hotel's location is next to all the best museums. However that's the only touristic area next to the hostel. So if you are looking for the drugs and the red light district kind of atmosphere you should go more towards the center. The hotel Van Gogh is also next to some of the best nightlife that have almost no tourists where all the young Dutch people go which is called: Leidseplein, and there is also rembrandtplein. But overall we haven't any real problem with the hotel, a part from the reception being rude at times, but for what you pay it's a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#301 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#257 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing