We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #142 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed on the hotel side of the place and it was great - staff available 24 hours, great location in the museum district, easy to get around to other places as well. We also rented bikes from them and they were perfect for exploring the city. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca_J22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (933)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Van Gogh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 933 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

As a group of 6, we decided to visit Amsterdam. This hotel was one of the first we considered because of how cheap it was.

Despite the fact that it's cheap, this hotel is spotlessly clean!

It is only a couple of minutes away from the action. Every night, I would walk back, but you could get the tram if you're not a fan of cardio.

10/10 - would visit again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank malnomis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed on the hostel side in a private room and could not believe how nice it was for a 'hostel'. In my opinion it was more like a hotel! Clean and modern, fresh towels when you needed them. The shower room was fab! The beds were comfy and we slept very well.
We were there for three days and didn't take a tram or bus anywhere in the city as walked everywhere - a great location. I would definitely recommend to others and visit again.
Excellent value and would certainly come again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights in the 6-bed dorm, and it really had exceeded my expectations for a hostel. It was really cozy and comfortable, not to mention extremely clean. The location is fantastic, easily accessible to almost anywhere in Amsterdam. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and they are more than happy to recommend you places to go and to eat. The five euro breakfast was sumptuous and well worth the money. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimottyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in the hotel (there's also a hostel) for 4 nights. The room was clean and comfortable. Lovely big shower. The all you can eat buffet breakfast for €5 (in advance, it's €6.50 on the day) is excellent value with lots of choice and fantastic coffee. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, right opposite the Museumplein and a few minutes walk from the Concertgebouw concert hall (the reason for our visit was to attend to two concerts). There are tram stops opposite the hotel for two trams that go to the centre. The only niggle was the beds which were very soft so didn't suit us oldies used to a firm orthopaedic mattress! If we visited Amsterdam again we would definitely stay at the Van Gogh again. Excellent value and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJaneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in the Hostel shared room. The location is excellent (especially if you want to do the museums) and also quite close to Leidserplein - a cool place to hang out. The rooms are very clean, bathrooms modern and tidy, staff very helpful, 5 Euro breakfast fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingGirl69x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Myself and 5 friends visited in late February for 5 nights and shared a dorm room. The dorm room was fairly spacious and very clean, each of the 6 beds had clean sheets and mattress' weren't bad either! The bathroom was lovely, with a huge walk in shower, however this became an issue with 6 of us using it on a daily basis it become damp smelling. Each bed had its own safe which you could program with your own code and use to store valuables in, very handy when you're in a foreign country. It cost us roughly 600 Euros for our visit, which we believe was good value for money, considering some of the other options available for a similar price. Would definitely consider using it again if we visited.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unlikelyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#37 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,385 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#329 of 371 in Amsterdam
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $94 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing