We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, very clean, but unhelpful front desk staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #142 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean, but unhelpful front desk staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my two friends in a 6-bed dorm room (female only). The room was spacious enough with lots of natural light (and good black-out curtains!). The private bathroom was very nice and cleaned every day to high standards. We got clean towels every day on our beds. It honestly felt much more like a hotel than a hostel. We were very happy with the room, location, breakfast, and free wifi. The location is great with access to many trams that go to Dam Square, Central Station, etc. The only downfall of the location is if you are out late at night near Central Station, it will cost you 15+ euros to cab back to the hostel. Same if you have an early morning flight on a Sunday (trams don't start until 7 am).

Unfortunately, most of the staff working at the front desk are not very helpful. If you ask them for suggestions or directions, they just keep staring at their computer screen and give you one-two word answers that get you nowhere. Also, we could only pay on one VISA card when checking in because our booking for three was together. Other hostels I've been to had no problem in splitting up the total cost between the 3 people on different cards. So that kind of screwed up our finances for the trip! If you are looking for a fun hostel where you are going to meet people, this is not your hostel. There is no bar or pub where fellow travellers can mingle or really a common room to hang out. It is a good hostel if you are with friends already and want a nice clean hostel to stay in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LCP949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    388
    145
    43
    37
See reviews for
71
133
148
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

stayed here last New Year's Eve. Hostel is a good location, close enough yo the centre but a shirt walk away so not kept up till early hours if you didn't want to be. Good price, facilities & service. Would stay again. Amsterdam is great :). You must visit ye old Dutch pancake house by the flower market. It's the best :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is both a hostel and hotel. One part of the building is a hotel and the other part is a hostel. We chose to stay in this hostel - 6 bed mixed dorm room with its own private washroom/shower. Yes its a little bit more expensive that most hostels in Amsterdam and its not centrally located but the room and washroom/shower was always clean and and linens and towels are provided free of charge. The washroom is equipped with a hair dryer, and soap(hand soap, and shower gel) which is rare in hostels. There are also a small safe in the room for small valuables that can be used free of charge. The bunk beds were sturdy and comfy. They offer a daily buffet breakfast for extra charge of 5 euros (per person per day), which I thought was a good price (cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, bread, tea, coffee, milk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank o_OMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

My brother, a friend and I all stayed here for two nights during our time in Amsterdam, and it was a very enjoyable experience! For being relatively cheap, the location was great, the safe were fine, and the continental breakfast was also very nice. The wifi was a nice plus as well! The hotel was very clean too, which apparently is pretty rare for budget hotels in Amsterdam, so that was nice. Definitely would recommend this hotel for budget travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hostel is very modern and has lovely rooms and is very clean. The fresh linen and towels everyday is a nice feature. The electronic safes in the rooms give you a sense of security. The location is perfect for Museumplein and Leidseplein but out of the way of more central areas.

Now the bad points. The staff are terribly rude and I don't think it's just because I'm British that I think that. It was impossible to get more than a word out of them and they rarely looked at you or engaged when doing something. The room cards are wiped everyday when someone in your room checks out but we weren't told this so were locked out twice, both times our request was met with a look of irritation and no sorry or explanation, not even eye contact. The atmosphere is also non-existent so look at The Flying Pig for fun and the chance to meet people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawley_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

While this was my second time visiting Hotel Van Gogh within a year, I hadn't reviewed it yet. The facilities are very basic but clean and well kept. Walking distance to a grocery store (Albert Heins) as well as Leidseplein makes it a great place to stay. Their beds felt a lot more comfortable compared to before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed here for 2 nights for my friend's 21st. We had 1 room for all 8 of us, with 4 sets of bunk beds. The beds were pretty comfy and there was quite a bit of space in the rest of the room for 8 girls to all get ready! We didn't even have much trouble with one bathroom between us all!

The hotel is located directly opposite the Van Gough museum, a tram stops directly outside here too so its great. I would advise using the trams as it only takes 5 minutes to get back into the centre - we got a 12 euro 48 hour pass which was great.

The area the hotel is located in is quite upmarket, which is great at night for a quiet nights sleep, but I would advise going into the centre for meals and drinks. There is a supermarket about 2 minutes away though which is really good.

Overall I think this hotel is perfect as a base for exploring Amsterdam, especially as a group of friends, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiaibbotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#312 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Volkshotel
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#255 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing