We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel with a Hotel Look”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #141 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hostel with a Hotel Look”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is both a hostel and hotel. One part of the building is a hotel and the other part is a hostel. We chose to stay in this hostel - 6 bed mixed dorm room with its own private washroom/shower. Yes its a little bit more expensive that most hostels in Amsterdam and its not centrally located but the room and washroom/shower was always clean and and linens and towels are provided free of charge. The washroom is equipped with a hair dryer, and soap(hand soap, and shower gel) which is rare in hostels. There are also a small safe in the room for small valuables that can be used free of charge. The bunk beds were sturdy and comfy. They offer a daily buffet breakfast for extra charge of 5 euros (per person per day), which I thought was a good price (cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries, bread, tea, coffee, milk).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o_OMZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    427
    157
    45
    43
See reviews for
76
148
154
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My brother, a friend and I all stayed here for two nights during our time in Amsterdam, and it was a very enjoyable experience! For being relatively cheap, the location was great, the safe were fine, and the continental breakfast was also very nice. The wifi was a nice plus as well! The hotel was very clean too, which apparently is pretty rare for budget hotels in Amsterdam, so that was nice. Definitely would recommend this hotel for budget travelers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hostel is very modern and has lovely rooms and is very clean. The fresh linen and towels everyday is a nice feature. The electronic safes in the rooms give you a sense of security. The location is perfect for Museumplein and Leidseplein but out of the way of more central areas.

Now the bad points. The staff are terribly rude and I don't think it's just because I'm British that I think that. It was impossible to get more than a word out of them and they rarely looked at you or engaged when doing something. The room cards are wiped everyday when someone in your room checks out but we weren't told this so were locked out twice, both times our request was met with a look of irritation and no sorry or explanation, not even eye contact. The atmosphere is also non-existent so look at The Flying Pig for fun and the chance to meet people.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawley_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

While this was my second time visiting Hotel Van Gogh within a year, I hadn't reviewed it yet. The facilities are very basic but clean and well kept. Walking distance to a grocery store (Albert Heins) as well as Leidseplein makes it a great place to stay. Their beds felt a lot more comfortable compared to before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsimAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself and 8 friends stayed here for 2 nights for my friend's 21st. We had 1 room for all 8 of us, with 4 sets of bunk beds. The beds were pretty comfy and there was quite a bit of space in the rest of the room for 8 girls to all get ready! We didn't even have much trouble with one bathroom between us all!

The hotel is located directly opposite the Van Gough museum, a tram stops directly outside here too so its great. I would advise using the trams as it only takes 5 minutes to get back into the centre - we got a 12 euro 48 hour pass which was great.

The area the hotel is located in is quite upmarket, which is great at night for a quiet nights sleep, but I would advise going into the centre for meals and drinks. There is a supermarket about 2 minutes away though which is really good.

Overall I think this hotel is perfect as a base for exploring Amsterdam, especially as a group of friends, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lydiaibbotson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaglescliffe
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is more a hotel than hostel, located in the museum area it is handy for many things and only 20minutes walking to the centre.
There is no kitchen and the place only does breakfast but thats OK.
Facilities are clean and modern.
It can be noisy first thing as there s a primary school next door!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was great, came with 6 friends and booked a full room. It was really good and the service is friendly and super helpful. Definitely worth it if you're on a tight budget. Or just wanna spend your money in the coffee shops instead. Haha.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#94 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing