We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bij-de-Amstel
Ranked #271 of 341 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be on your own. Willemien was very kind and helpful. We had a wonderful time and recommend this place if you want to stay in a quite area in Amsterdam. The place is very near the metro and a small shopping place for your milk and bread.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in the bed&kitchen room for 4 nights, the room was quiet and noiseless and the location was in a residential quarter but very close to the metro stop. In the bathroom there was several towels and shower products so we didn't need to bring them from home. Nice and friendly, good price for the location and the provided services.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betbetbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Warm and comfortable with coffee and tea maker. Very quiet to the rear of the house overlooking the garden. As in typicaly dutch houses, steep stairs to the room. Willemina checked that everything was OK. It is 4 subway stations from Centraal but very close to the Amstel River and it is a nice walk to the Hermitage. Crockery was a rather odd assortment in a very large cupboard and the kettle was on the floor. This could all be easily resolved. However a nice stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite room and it was large and comfortable. Pull the bell when you arrive as the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank artpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is nice. Information about the city Amsterdam was pourly. The beds were good. The pratice of the owner is also in the house. This makes to much noise in the house. People going in and out. The neighbor has also a bed and breakfast. You can feel the tension between this two.
Sorry about this review, but we only wanted some peaceful time.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Bed&Kitchen for 10 nights and it was a great experience. The studio is cozy, fully equipped and very clean. It is located on the last floor, so it's a bit hot when the weather is sunny, the stairway is very steep and it's not easy to carry the bags upstairs but it's absolutely dutch style. The staff was very kind and always helpful to any request. The location is also very good: it's only 3 minutes walk to metro station and 5 minutes to tram stop, the surroundings are quiet and there is a furnished supermarket nearby. However we can recommend it as a perfect starting point for visiting the city. Surely we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FraLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a very good time in the Bed & Kitchen. It's equipped with all the necessary tools. It's large and comfortable. It's also well located: 3 minutes walk from the Metro station even if we often reached by walking our turistical destinations.
We hope to stay the B&K again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend with my girlfriend.
the room is quite big and worth a 3 stars hotel with a nice bed, a bathroom with bath and toilets.
In term of accomodation in the room you'll find what you need for coffee and tea, an egg cooker, a minibar (empty), a microwave and a table with 2 chairs. In the bathroom, clean towels, and soaps. There was no plates, forks or knifes so don't expect to do big cooking.

The place was really clean when we arrived.

Not really in center but nice if you want a quiet neighbourhood. Close to a supermarket but not really convenient for the tramway (only line 3).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabermeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#34 of 249 in Amsterdam
273 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,003 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#66 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $131 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bij-de-Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing