We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amsterdam experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bij-de-Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bij-de-Amstel
Ranked #247 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
artist from Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Warm and comfortable with coffee and tea maker. Very quiet to the rear of the house overlooking the garden. As in typicaly dutch houses, steep stairs to the room. Willemina checked that everything was OK. It is 4 subway stations from Centraal but very close to the Amstel River and it is a nice walk to the Hermitage. Crockery was a rather odd assortment in a very large cupboard and the kettle was on the floor. This could all be easily resolved. However a nice stay and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose the ensuite room and it was large and comfortable. Pull the bell when you arrive as the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank artpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heerlen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is nice. Information about the city Amsterdam was pourly. The beds were good. The pratice of the owner is also in the house. This makes to much noise in the house. People going in and out. The neighbor has also a bed and breakfast. You can feel the tension between this two.
Sorry about this review, but we only wanted some peaceful time.

Room Tip: Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in Bed&Kitchen for 10 nights and it was a great experience. The studio is cozy, fully equipped and very clean. It is located on the last floor, so it's a bit hot when the weather is sunny, the stairway is very steep and it's not easy to carry the bags upstairs but it's absolutely dutch style. The staff was very kind and always helpful to any request. The location is also very good: it's only 3 minutes walk to metro station and 5 minutes to tram stop, the surroundings are quiet and there is a furnished supermarket nearby. However we can recommend it as a perfect starting point for visiting the city. Surely we would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraLar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We had a very good time in the Bed & Kitchen. It's equipped with all the necessary tools. It's large and comfortable. It's also well located: 3 minutes walk from the Metro station even if we often reached by walking our turistical destinations.
We hope to stay the B&K again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed there for a weekend with my girlfriend.
the room is quite big and worth a 3 stars hotel with a nice bed, a bathroom with bath and toilets.
In term of accomodation in the room you'll find what you need for coffee and tea, an egg cooker, a minibar (empty), a microwave and a table with 2 chairs. In the bathroom, clean towels, and soaps. There was no plates, forks or knifes so don't expect to do big cooking.

The place was really clean when we arrived.

Not really in center but nice if you want a quiet neighbourhood. Close to a supermarket but not really convenient for the tramway (only line 3).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jabermeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went there by car: parking in the streets around the B&B is very expensive (around 4€ per hour), so we parked the car in the A+R Parking Arena (just above the Ajax Stadium) where they give you Metro tickets included in the 24h tariff (€ 8) to reach the town centre. Near the Central Station we rented the bikes for the whole day and it was a very smart and funny way to live the city as people from Amsterdam use to do. B&B is located in a quiet neighbourhood, a little bit outside the city centre but just few steps from the full of life Amstel River bankside: by bike it takes only few minutes to be where you want..
The B&Kitchen room is good for two persons: clean, wide, noiseless and sunny tipical Amsterdam apartment with all the bathroom and kitchen facilities (shower gel, hairdryer, coffeemaker, microwave, etc.) Negative aspects are: you have to climb 3-4 flights of very narrow stairs (not suitable for travellers who use to have heavy and big luggages); you can open only one window (roof windows could not be open even if they promised us to repair them). The owner was nice and friendly but very discrete if you don't ask for her..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandroM590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Bed and Kitchen so we enjoyed to shopping at grocery store near here.
It was good experience for us because we knew the local people life style.

Hotel location is also good, it's quiet and nice to go to the plant garden and zoo.
We hope to stay the B&B again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tongue303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#46 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bij-de-Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Property: Bij-de-Amstel
Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bij-de-Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing