We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“spacious room on the top floor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #78 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spacious room on the top floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

we booked a canal-overlooking double bed room and had our room on the top floor (3rd floor) and its spacious, nice and clean, ask for that room its really good. Shared Bathroom is available on first and second floor but you have your washing basin in your own room which is good you dont have to wait for your turn to do simple morning wash up, you can do it in your room. one thing i dislike is the really narrow staircase, my palms were literally sweating when i had to walk down as the steps were really small and steep. wifi didnt work in our room, so we have to access it from the common room where reception is better there. breakfast is good cos it was served fresh and hot (eggs and bacon). A nice little hostel for its cheap price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneL5116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    42
    10
    5
    18
See reviews for
5
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

can't understand some of the critical reviews on here. this is a budget hotel in the central location of a european capital city. the place is very clean and we had a great room with a wonderful view over the singel canal. the owner is a lovely guy who cant do enough to make you feel welcome/at home and relaxed. thank you.

Room Tip: it always makes a difference to have canal view rooms in amsterdam as nearly all of the smaller hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon47uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar, Montenegro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel at the end of 2012. When I first step in a room a felt a terible smell (mix of musty and cleaning products). I was desperate! Me and my boyfriend got out from the room for long walk outside, leaving open windows every day and night, because smell was terrible and had no way to evaporate! Bathrooms are so small, you cant get out from it and not to get wet (floor is always wet). when I asked host for the soap he sad that the hotel is not obliged to provide it. After that stay, I decided not to travel if I havnt enough money for proper accomodation. My whole experience of Amsterdam is destroyed :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suncica_putnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I tried to get a reservation at this place by emailing them, they reply to emails within a day so that's good. But there's no possibility of check-in after 8pm (not even if you announce it prior to arrival). What more can I say? I've travelled quite a lot and as far as I experienced check-in times have never been limited at any hotel (be it a scary hostel somewhere in a dark alley in South America or a fancy Sheraton/Hilton/etc).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgesCartagena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a small hotel but fantastic. If you are looking for a place to spend a quiet holidays without spending much money this is the ideal place.
The living room is very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having last stayed here in September 2012 i was very pleased with the renovations that have been in progress this winter. The rooms have all been beautifully decorated with the dinning room and kitchen having had a major overhaul. All in all a very very nice return to one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDONE1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me, my partner, my sister and a friend stayed here whilst on a trip to Amsterdam!!!! My sister being a student couldn't afford luxury hotel so we went for something cheaper! What a big mistake!! The people looking after the place were crazy, the stairs really really steep.. Bedrooms I wouldn't expect a dog to sleep in and our window was facing a brick wall! In my sisters and friends room there were mouse traps and poison!!! We didn't stay for breakfast and judging by the other reviews I'm glad we didn't!!! Late at night there was sounds of drunken people shouting outside ... Only to be the people looking after the place!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#207 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#136 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#186 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#15 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Liberty was originally built as a canal house in 1658, Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels with 5 rooms. Bathrooms are shared and are on the 1st and 2nd floor. To access the rooms you have to climb the stairs to get to your room, which are know to be a little steep. Hotel Liberty is next to the smalllest house in Amsterdam. Hotel Liberty is only minuets walk from Central Station. Situated on the Singel, Amsterdam's first ring canal, offering a unique view of Amsterdam day to day life. Train from Schiphol International Airport to Central Station is Approximately €5. From Central Station walk to the right along the Prins Hendrikkade, turning left onto the first canal via the Stromarkt walking on the left side of the canal you will arrive at Hotel Liberty in under 10 minuets. Check in at Hotel Liberty is not possible after 20:00pm. Rooms are available after 14:00pmon the day of check in . Check in is by appointment only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing