We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“More Boutique than Backpacker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #73 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More Boutique than Backpacker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having last stayed here in September 2012 i was very pleased with the renovations that have been in progress this winter. The rooms have all been beautifully decorated with the dinning room and kitchen having had a major overhaul. All in all a very very nice return to one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDONE1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    39
    9
    5
    17
See reviews for
5
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Me, my partner, my sister and a friend stayed here whilst on a trip to Amsterdam!!!! My sister being a student couldn't afford luxury hotel so we went for something cheaper! What a big mistake!! The people looking after the place were crazy, the stairs really really steep.. Bedrooms I wouldn't expect a dog to sleep in and our window was facing a brick wall! In my sisters and friends room there were mouse traps and poison!!! We didn't stay for breakfast and judging by the other reviews I'm glad we didn't!!! Late at night there was sounds of drunken people shouting outside ... Only to be the people looking after the place!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

stayed there nov 2012, brilliant location, staff were amazing made me and my boyfriend feel at home, told us all about amsterdam best places to go, a lovely chilled atomsphere, communal room kinda like a kitchen long table for everyone to sit at me and my partner ( from wales) sitting chattting to a group of italians, spanish couple all sharing stories. kim makes amazing meatballs!! bathroom was spotless, they were improving the hotel at the time but was no problem we were out all day exploring when the builders were working they would be finished by the time we got back and it was nice to see what it looked like when we arrived to what it was like when we left, it was no bother to us. cant wait to go back and see what its like now! yes stairs are steep but most of them are in amsterdam! room was spotless, some things are dated but they havent had the hotel for long and they are constandly updating it. bed linen lovely and clean so what more can you ask for. i am really fussy with hotels cleanliness and all that but this one was honestly one of the best hotels ive ever been to for everything, location staff cleanliness, price! we are definately going back there.

Room Tip: room number 1 has the least steep steps!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I totally understand every complaint one could have about this place excluding one point - why for god´s sake would you book budget hotel stating it has no bathroom in the room, no TVs or any other ,,luxuries" if that´s exatly what you would miss during your stay..? Yes, for the price of this hotel you could probably get much much more somewhere in Spain or Greece. But this is Amsterdam and it´s pretty expensive so what you get in Liberty for your money is after all quite adequate and even comfy. We´re young married couple, came for fun but definitely not for some cheering through the night with strangers. Even though in Liberty you cannot avoid contact with strangers, it´s so small you won´t really be in some big noisy collective and most interactions are actually quite funny and cute in here - like having a wonderful breakfast together prepared by very kind staff/owner, who is the heart and soul of this tiny place. Our room was in the highest floor and yes, the stair is terribly steep :D But we found it ,,an important and funny part of this experience" after all and never had any accident or difficulties with it. Our room was tiny, no view at all, no wardrobes just two beds pulled together, two night tables, one chair and the most important- sink and bin for the trash ;) well, everywhere you look there´s something begging to be repaired or renovated but there really is no dirt at all, we had a new floor and I guess matresess were quite new too and through all our worries - we slept like a babies in here and were never disturbed by anyone or anything. THE MAIN HIGHLIGHTS of this place are: affordable price for this expensive city and excelent location - you are really in the very center and pretty close to anything you might need. For a few days/ nights in the city for young people this hotel is just perfect! !

Room Tip: I don´t really think you have a chance to choose a lot in here as there are only few rooms and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malalutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Very nice place and very nice staff. Cheap, comfortable, clean, five minutes walking to the center and three minutes walking from the station. Breakfast included. Strongly recommended for young people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

the only good point was the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the dog was cute.
the stairs were far too steep, the bannister was broke and they thought it was acceptable to 'fix' it with tape, the room was about the size of a wardrobe, there was a sink in the room with 2 open wardrobes with 3 hangers, the safe was broken, the bed was very uncomfortable, the 'view' was scaffolding and a wall, the bottom step was broken as you walk in, on the 2nd floor stairs the bannister had come off and there were spikes sticking out of the wall which i walked into about 12 times. There was only 1 socket in the room. the so called bathroom was awful, it was the smallest thing ever, and you literally sat in the shower to go to the toilet, and the water from the shower covered the whole of the floor. sleeping on the 'bed' felt like sleeping on cardboard, i will never ever go back to this awful hotel ever again!!
i had the best weekend ever in amsterdam but the hotel did put a big downer on it!

Room Tip: never ever in your life ever stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura-1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted! The hotel was cheap (for Amsterdam anyways!) and as the title says it has a perfect location! We were interrailing and it was a 3 minute walk from the station - it was that close that we at first walked straight passed it thinking we had to walk further!

As some of the other reviews state the stairs are rather steep, but that just adds to the fun!

The owners and staff are by fast the best part of this hotel! Super friendly and helpful with the best places to visit! OH and they cooked us breakfast for FREE in the morning!

I would definitely go back and recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: The further you go up the steeper the steps get!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Loiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#200 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 758 reviews
Centrum
No photo provided
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#85 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#46 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Liberty was originally built as a canal house in 1658, Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels with 5 rooms. To access the rooms you have to climb the stairs to get to your room, which are know to be a little steep. Hotel Liberty is next to the smalllest house in Amsterdam. Hotel Liberty is only minuets walk from Central Station. Situated on the Singel, Amsterdam's first ring canal, offering a unique view of Amsterdam day to day life. Train from Schiphol International Airport to Central Station is Approximately €5. Walk to the right along the Prins Hendrikkade, turning left onto the first canal via the Stromarkt walking on the left side of the canal you will arrive at Hotel Liberty in under 10 minuets. Check in at Hotel Liberty is not possible after 20:00pm. Check in is by appointment only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing