We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully friendly hotel! Wonderful Location!!”
Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #61 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderfully friendly hotel! Wonderful Location!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel was perfect for what we wanted! The hotel was cheap (for Amsterdam anyways!) and as the title says it has a perfect location! We were interrailing and it was a 3 minute walk from the station - it was that close that we at first walked straight passed it thinking we had to walk further!

As some of the other reviews state the stairs are rather steep, but that just adds to the fun!

The owners and staff are by fast the best part of this hotel! Super friendly and helpful with the best places to visit! OH and they cooked us breakfast for FREE in the morning!

I would definitely go back and recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: The further you go up the steeper the steps get!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Loiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    46
    15
    5
    19
See reviews for
6
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

More than welcoming staff, feel more like mates (Plus a friendly dog)! Room was clean and presented well, also had a sink. Stairs are steeeep, which was interesting, but not much of a bother to us. Shower/loo was in good order, two in total. Breakfast was provided whenever we wanted it, as was check in/out (arrived 1800ish and checked out 0600ish)

Location is great, only a short walk from the station/red light/restraunts/cafés.

This has been my favorite hotel of the trip so far, can't wait to come back.

Cheers!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, I'd try and ask for a lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamgDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I am 27 years old from Australia and found Liberty Hotel to be a home away from home. After having just stayed at a sterile stuffy hotel previously, this was a welcome relief. The owner(s) are very welcoming and you get a personally cooked breakfast! The location is wonderful by the canal. It provided me with an authentic experience and I would not hesitate to go back there - in fact I would probably go out of my way to go to stay there. Thanks Shalina and co.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Liberty Hotel is a small but cosy hotel, situated in the heart of the city. Don't expect luxury but the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable enough for the price. If you leave after the check out time the staff will probably accept to keep your suit cases until the end of the day. I don't think there are any hotels that can offer double rooms for such a low price. The station is very close, and you'll find plenty of bars, restaurant and coffee shops around. The museums are less than three kilometers away and you can rent bicycles or take the tram.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pioupiou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2012

we booked up to stay here last min and did not know what to expect after reading reviews.
we were meet by elliot when we arrived, who carried both mine and my friends bags up the stairs. Shalina the owner then met us and offer us a cup of tea and showed us the best places to visit and eat.
yes this has shared bathrooms however once we had showered and a lovely breakfast we were getting ready to head out for the day while Shalina got to work cleaning the bathrooms keeping the place clean and tidy for us.
i wont bore you wit the ins and outs of our holiday but from start to finish both Shalina and Elliot went out their way to make us more than welcome (elliot even lent my friend his top of the range camera - only for her to be hit by a bike and break it!- even my friend breaking the camera the amazing pair still wnet out the way to make us feel at home.
oh and about the stairs we were on the floor above the living room , yes its steep but if i can get up it no problem, most people can
HIGHLY RECOMMEND - already looking to book to stay there again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Having stayed in a few hotels in Amsterdam i have to say this is far and away the best. Its not luxury but is like staying with your family, I have never felt more welcome in any hotel. It is clean and tidy, but the thing that makes the difference here is the welcome you are given by Shalina the Owner and Elliot and Dora the staff, nothing is too much trouble and Elliot is the best person to speak for anything you need and doesn't just give directions but actually takes you to where ever you want to go. I will definatly be staying here again and recommending it to all my friends. Thankyou all for a wonderful stay xxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDONE1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My first stay in Amsterdam, and i am so glad we found hotel liberty.. It is in a great location, just walking distance from everything you need and want to see. The hotel staff were all very friendly, helpful and tried their best to make our time there the best possible. The rooms were all clean and we got a great breakfast in the mornings at any time we pleased. Hotel liberty is the place to stay if you want to have a great holiday. Can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: If your going to have quite a few drinks, i recommend getting a room which is downstairs as the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 367 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#163 of 367 in Amsterdam
921 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#231 of 367 in Amsterdam
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#187 of 367 in Amsterdam
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 228 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Liberty was originally built as a canal house in 1658, Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels with 5 rooms. Bathrooms are shared and are on the 1st and 2nd floor. To access the rooms you have to climb the stairs to get to your room, which are know to be a little steep. Hotel Liberty is next to the smalllest house in Amsterdam. Hotel Liberty is only minuets walk from Central Station. Situated on the Singel, Amsterdam's first ring canal, offering a unique view of Amsterdam day to day life. Train from Schiphol International Airport to Central Station is Approximately €5. From Central Station walk to the right along the Prins Hendrikkade, turning left onto the first canal via the Stromarkt walking on the left side of the canal you will arrive at Hotel Liberty in under 10 minuets. Check in at Hotel Liberty is not possible after 20:00pm. Rooms are available after 14:00pmon the day of check in . Check in is by appointment only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing