We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Liberty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Liberty Hotel
Ranked #71 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

shallina the owner is so welcoming the rooms although basic are always spotless .great falue.in agood location for exploring the city

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyxadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    14
    5
    19
See reviews for
5
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by the very friendly dutch owner and her Jack Russell Molly, who were both lovely. Molly sat under the owner's coat for most of the time, when she came out, she was friendly but not fussy.
The owner made us a fantastic breakfast (we arrived about 11am) and gave us lots of information about Amsterdam. We sat by the window while we ate and chatted, overlooking the Singel canal, which was beautiful, we could have stayed there all day. We were offered breakfast each day, whatever time we surfaced. On the second day, we had an amazing feast, we ate so much that we didn't eat for the rest of the day! There was a fridge, microwave etc. that you could use to cook your own lunch / dinner if you were on a budget.
We checked into our room , on the top floor which was simple but clean and very comfortable. We had heard horror stories about the narrow, steep stairs, they were both, but were manageable and this is common in Amsterdam.
The hotel was very laid back and relaxed, there was one other worker, a Scottish lad, who was also very friendly, helpful and fun. The kitchen area was available as like a 'common room' for all the guests, there was free wifi - you were able to use the hotel laptop. As well as connect your own device. It was great to socialise with the staff and other guests, I cannot emphasise enough how freindly this place is.
There were two shower rooms, to facilitate 5 rooms, however there was never a problem with queing. They were small but clean. They HAD toilet roll, no towels to dry your hands but towels WERE availbale from the hotel if you hadn't brought your own.
The location was brilliant, next to the 'narrowest house in Amsetrdam', which attracts a lot of tourists taking photos (we enjoyed waving at them through the window). Very close to the train station (which was easy to travel to from the airport). It was in a very nice area of Amsterdam but close enough to all of the attractions, including the red light district.

Absolutely fantastic for a bargain price, I will definately be returning to Amsterdam and will definately stay at Liberty Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovemyfoodbarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Stayed in one room with friend. Room although basic was very clean. The shared bathroom was spotless. The owner was very helpful, cheerful, and she made you feel very at home. Going again in February 2011 and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

This place is a joke. It's dirty, smelly and staff is never there. If they are they are completely useless. You cant sleep at night as there is always some party going on with a laud music and screaming people. The place for breakfast is so discussing that you will not even want to eat there. It's worth to add extra money and to go somewhere else. I had a great time with my boyfriend in Amsterdam but this hotel put us down few times. It's not value for money at all!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forest441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
456 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

This is the worst place I ever stayed. The staff was unfriendly, the rooms smelled. It was quite dirty - I don't think they ever clean the bathroom. Just overall terrible. Stay Away!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Went to Amsterdam for a stag weekend and stayed at the Liberty Hotel. We wanted cheap accommodation as we were going to be out most of the time, and just needed a place to get our heads down after an eventful night. This place was cheap to stay at and in a good location. No more than a 5 min walk to the station. Dam square was about 5-10 min walk and easy to get to.There is a nice cafe next door where you can have breakfast. If the hotel did serve breakfast I'm not to sure i would fancy it. A canel runs outside the hotel and it is quiet at night. The only person i saw running the hotel was an Irish lad who was nice enough. The stairs in this place are mental, honestly, our room was on the top floor and the first 2 set of stairs are steep, but the third are ridiculous. Our party had the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms and i think we were the only guests staying there. The second floor bedroom windows open wide and they run from floor to ceiling( so careful you dont trip and take a tumble). If your looking for no thrills and very basic accomation then this place isn't to bad. One more thing there are are two very small toilet/ shower rooms. When i say small they are about 1m x 2m and they consist of a basin, toilet and shower. It is a wet room so no shower tray and everyone has to share these in the whole hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stealth_N17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

Liberty hotel it is terrible place in Amsterdam. We was stay for 4 days. First when we arrive all staff was smoking canabbis inside . It was very smelling. Next day we was asking about our breakfast ,but...... no breakfast all four days, all staff was sleeping with the shoes in the eating area fully drunk. Nex tnight was the best!!!!. We found that in our room there is a MOUSE!!!!!! We say to the staff but no auction!!! It is your choce but I never never ever come back to this "hotel"!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#217 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#67 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#182 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liberty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Hotel

Property: Liberty Hotel
Address: Singel 5, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Liberty was originally built as a canal house in 1658, Hotel Liberty is one of Amsterdams smallest Hotels with 5 rooms. Bathrooms are shared and are on the 1st and 2nd floor. To access the rooms you have to climb the stairs to get to your room, which are know to be a little steep. Hotel Liberty is next to the smalllest house in Amsterdam. Hotel Liberty is only minuets walk from Central Station. Situated on the Singel, Amsterdam's first ring canal, offering a unique view of Amsterdam day to day life. Train from Schiphol International Airport to Central Station is Approximately €5. From Central Station walk to the right along the Prins Hendrikkade, turning left onto the first canal via the Stromarkt walking on the left side of the canal you will arrive at Hotel Liberty in under 10 minuets. Check in at Hotel Liberty is not possible after 20:00pm. Rooms are available after 14:00pmon the day of check in . Check in is by appointment only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Liberty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing