We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, super cheap!”
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellington
Ranked #321 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I will start with the only cons i found in this hotel, being the horribly steep entry staircase, and the windows that don't offer that much security... Considering they don't have a lock, which would be really easy to fix... That said, be weary if you bring a lot of luggage... The staircase will kill you...

As for the good part... Great staff, good breakfast & coffee area, very comfortable bed and running hot water (without breaks as you usually see in this kind of low budget hotels...), and the location is simply amazing!!! 100m from the museumplein, 200m from hard rock cafe & bike rental, 250m from leidseplein & the bulldog!!! What more can you wish for this value?!

I can firmly state that the location of the hotel combined with the price, made my trip worthwhile, also, i VERY STRONLY advice anyone who visits amsterdam to make theyr first priority renting a bike, otherwise you won't see a tenth, of what this marvel-of-a-city has to offer! (Take bellington discount to mac-bike!)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute get away and by no means were we expecting 5 star luxury but cleanliness would have been a start. To list the few positives; location was fantastic, easily accessible by trams for all the sights of Amsterdam and the hotel staff were more than friendly. The hotel stair cases were very steep, making it inaccessible for disabled, elderly or even children. The bathroom was very unhygienic, so much so we were glad to have packed flip flops that we could wear in the shower (if you could call it that). The shower head was so full of scum and mold that the water sprayed in every which direction. The toilet was unsecured so every time you sat on it it moved, we were given one toilet roll between 3 of us for 3 days, rationed to say the least!! The beds in the room were full of stains and mold and we were sure that our numerous bites were from bed bugs. Also because of the hotel being situated on a very noisy shopping street the noise on a morning was horrendous, there was also building works going on that we were not notified of before travelling. Breakfast was a minimum. The hotel was not worth the money we paid even with it's convenient location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLeighRachelLaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Overall this hotel represented outstanding value for money in a cracking location. Not much can be said about the rooms other than they were clean with no frills. Of note however was the very warm and helpful service recieved from all the staff. They where only too pleased to offer local tourist advice, directions which is a great deal more the most of the hotels we stayed in across Europe. For the price I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcwagadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Very near of Museumplein, the breakfast is very complet for a hotel of this category. The final price was more cheap that the page web.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Francisco Javie... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

When my husband, 3 young daughters and I arrived in Amsterdam (Summer 2007) to discover that our travel agent had goofed and booked us in a hotel that was no longer in existence (it had been demolished, according to neighbours), the Bellington took us in with absolutely no notice. No, it was not the one bedroom apartment we had booked, but we had a clean room, enough beds, television, a small refrigerator and a private bathroom. Our room was small, simple, no frills, but it served our purpose beautifully. The free breakfast was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was much better than the room we had originally booked out in the suburbs. We loved being within walking distance of Museumplein, Vondelpark, Max Euweplein, trams, restaurants and shops. In the end, we were thrilled that we ended up at the Bellington, instead of the room we had originally booked. We had a wonderful action-packed 10-day adventure in Amsterdam that remains the best family vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: We found this to be a good, very basic room. If you are looking for something fancy, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very hospitable family. Michel (manager) was very helpful in giving tips and directions on places to eat, sites to visit, best transportation etc. Complimentary buffet breakfast was also good with enough choices from cereals, breads, cold cuts, eggs, coffee, a wide variety of teas, orange juice and some fruits. The only small drawback is the narrow and steep staircases which elderly and physically challenged people would have difficulty in climbing as the hotel is located in the 2nd floor since the ground floor are high value commercial spaces of boutiques. Very good value for money

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank RAYMOND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adele F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#227 of 372 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#317 of 372 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsule Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#275 of 372 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 372 in Amsterdam
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $76 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bellington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing