We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good, basic hotel room. Fantastic location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bellington
Ranked #331 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, basic hotel room. Fantastic location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

When my husband, 3 young daughters and I arrived in Amsterdam (Summer 2007) to discover that our travel agent had goofed and booked us in a hotel that was no longer in existence (it had been demolished, according to neighbours), the Bellington took us in with absolutely no notice. No, it was not the one bedroom apartment we had booked, but we had a clean room, enough beds, television, a small refrigerator and a private bathroom. Our room was small, simple, no frills, but it served our purpose beautifully. The free breakfast was lovely, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was much better than the room we had originally booked out in the suburbs. We loved being within walking distance of Museumplein, Vondelpark, Max Euweplein, trams, restaurants and shops. In the end, we were thrilled that we ended up at the Bellington, instead of the room we had originally booked. We had a wonderful action-packed 10-day adventure in Amsterdam that remains the best family vacation we have ever had.

Room Tip: We found this to be a good, very basic room. If you are looking for something fancy, this might not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    31
    30
    19
    31
See reviews for
18
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very hospitable family. Michel (manager) was very helpful in giving tips and directions on places to eat, sites to visit, best transportation etc. Complimentary buffet breakfast was also good with enough choices from cereals, breads, cold cuts, eggs, coffee, a wide variety of teas, orange juice and some fruits. The only small drawback is the narrow and steep staircases which elderly and physically challenged people would have difficulty in climbing as the hotel is located in the 2nd floor since the ground floor are high value commercial spaces of boutiques. Very good value for money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RAYMOND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

I just back from Amsterdam, and want to say that hotel perfect for travels that need good bad, clean shower & toilet. Very nice, friendly helpful owners(Family from Japan), very good location and very acceptable price.
One problem, its a stairs, I have a problem with my back and I cant take my luggage up stairs, and if you don't know, I can explain in most hotels in Amsterdam very high stairs I think its approximate 95-100 degrees, and if you girl, and you have heavy luggage (my was 22 kg) it will be a problem. But still I ask owners to help me, and they take my language up stairs to our room. So what can I say, I am 27 y.o, from Israel and hotel is nice. Good Luck:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niko4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

The first and last time we booked a room online it had to be the Bellington. Upon arrival we had to climb a Mt. Everest staircase just to get to the check-in desk. We were shown up another steep staircase to our room which I wouldn't have stayed in as a backpacker years before. There were actual holes in the bathroom and bedroom walls with exposed wiring. The room was dark and dank. We asked for another room which they "didn't have." We asked for a refund which they "refused." They would rather have your money right then rather than offer any customer satisfaction. We left immediately and took the loss.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYLAdy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

The only really good thing about this hotel was the location. The room was tiny and not very clean. Also, the reception and breakfast room were in the next house, so to get there from your room you had to go downstairs to the street, enter next door and go up steep stairs again (not very confortable). Breakfast was OK though. Next time I'm in Amsterdam I'll definitely look for something better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonardoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Location is in a high end shopping area in the museum district, but the hotel is not worth the money. The room was not clean, no AC, and construction started at 4 am on the roof and on the streets. The jack hammers did not stop. It was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superfry75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#250 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#220 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Sipermann Hotel
Sipermann Hotel
#305 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#323 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#166 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellington

Property: Hotel Bellington
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 78-80, 1071CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Bellington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing