We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer than you expect”
Review of Hostel Slotania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Slotania
Ranked #190 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Four of us stayed here for two nights in april paying 50gbp for the two nights. Its easy access to the city centre (10mins)via trams 7 or 14 and really did the job for us. It was clean and the four of us had a room to share and a very modern bathroom. The staff were friendly and arranged our airport taxi for us(40euro) the room was clean and the bunk beds were more than comfortable, there were plenty of plus sockets and the tv was good with music channels included. The continental brekkie was included and was good, lots to choose from. I would stay here again and recommend it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank DibDab1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Slotania
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 127 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the Slotania as part of a group holiday (Student Invasion). For the price we paid, and the look of the hotel from the outside we were expecting a nightmare hotel.

However, once we were inside, the hotel was lovely, everything was clean, the rooms are a great size (we had two bunk beds). The bathrooms are really clean, huge shower and everything you could need.

Really good selection of TV channels on a massive flat screen TV! The breakfast is all cold food, bread, cereals, cheese, meat etc but it's more than enough for a quick start to the day. Free WiFi all over the hotel, vending machine and loads of discount vouchers and maps available downstairs, really helpful staff.

The loaction is fine, the tram stops outside the hotel and takes 10/15 minutes to get to Dam square or central station. Perfect for the price (must have been about 25 euros a night)

Room Tip: First floor rooms were great! WiFI password is amsterdam
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeterStoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Abit ruff and ready, there was a corner shower which did not fit the position where it was located and made it difficult to access, the shower rail was coming out at the top and had been bodged up with silicone, the bathroom light was dim, felt like a 20w bulb, the shower must have been leaking as the wall on the other side was all lets say funky, and had just been papered and painted over, other than this it was ok

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash9694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here last 2011, When I arrived the key wouldn't fit in the door after 3 and a half hours later and the clerk yelling over the counter I finally got in.
He wouldn't refund my money, get a manger or even call the police. He told me to throw away the key after my stay as it wasn't working anymore.

I left a few hours later with no refund no manger no number and no where to stay.

Not even to say it is not close to the center and what seems to be a very rough area. The room was dirty and over priced as it hadn't be cleaned since the building was built.

I would never recommend anyone to stay here ever.

Left in tears with no where to stay and no money. Not my idea of a holiday

Room Tip: Don't book with this "hotel"
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights between the 10-13th October 2012..I arrived after 10pm and have to say my 1st impressions werent favourable..The night staff were not very friendly. I was tired and it was late and all I wanted was to sleep. However the morning team where great, very attentive and helpful...My room, I must say although sleeping up to 6 women was empty except for one other lady..The beds were clean and fresh and the shower was better than some hotels Ive stayed in..Breakfast was included in the £61.26 price and was just the ticket to start the day.The coffee and continental fayre was amazing.It was some distance from the main city centre, but for me it wasnt a problem..I took the tram then spent the days site-seeing only returning for sleep..I will definately be staying again..Great price...

Room Tip: If your travelling alone male or female..Make sure you book a single sex room..
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinebarlow1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived in the dark and found it a bit tricky to find the place so would recommend getting some directions before you arrive! The location could be better but was only a 10/15 tram ride from the centre and the trams come regularly and are quite cheap so it wasn't a massive problem. We got a taxi back late at night and we split the cost between 4 of us so was reasonable.
The rooms and bedding were clean though the bathroom did smell of stale smoke, even so it seemed clean enough.
The breakfast was great, loads of choice. Its a 5 minute walk to the supermarket which was also handy.
The staff were friendly and helped us with directions and booked us a taxi to the station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The location of this place is just terrible! To get transportation downtown its hard and buses only come every 10 mins. It Not to mention the cramped rooms and the filthy toilets. The staff wasn't very helpful(not even sure if they even notice we were there) and somewhat rude too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroMoura886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amsterdam Budget Rooms
#187 of 238 in Amsterdam
15 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#203 of 238 in Amsterdam
176 reviews
A&O Amsterdam Zuidoost
#53 of 238 in Amsterdam
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amigo Budget Hostel
#189 of 238 in Amsterdam
430 reviews
Dutchies Hostel
#35 of 238 in Amsterdam
90 reviews
Train Lodge
#40 of 238 in Amsterdam
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Slotania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Slotania

Address: Slotermeerlaan 131, 1063 JN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $44 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hostel Slotania Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing