We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute rip off!”
Review of Stargate Amsterdam

Stargate Amsterdam
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stargate Amsterdam
Ranked #272 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We agreed to pay just over €1000 when we first booked for 4 people for 6 nights .. only to arrive and discover that it was actually €1340, our beds were not made and the sheets and duvets did not match at all. The bed sheets even had holes in them and smelled disgusting.

The apartment has exteremly high stairs up to the front door and the spiral staircase inside is about to clapse .. after staying there for 3 nights we we're told that 4 other guys were moving into the room across from ours in the apartment. The guys were alright but spoke hardly any english so it was awkward at first. However it could have been a messy situation if we didn't get on with the guys .. We had to share our living room and kitchen space and 8 people had 1 toilet to use which is absolutely horrendous!
The apartment has no reception and is run by a woman called Kate who appears on a moped 10 mins after you fone her waiting outside. Kate, who comes across as nice and sweet at first is far from it! .. she just randomly appeared at times and gave us a right ear bashing for not doing the dishes! we had been in the apartment for 48 hours and gave her €335 each and she was raging for not having done a few dishes! she spoke to us like children and made us feel guilty .. who the [---] does she think she is? walking in and out whenever she felt like it to check up on us .. after paying that sort of cash and having no cleaners etc.. I think a few dirty dishes is no big deal as long as everything is sorted and just as we found it. We also seen a few mice in the kitchen.

On our last day she had the cheek to refuse our deposit and we lost out on €25 each. When we arrived she said the deposit was for the room key only and then she said we lost it because we had visitors in.. It wasn't that when the other 4 guys we're having a new year party!

Even though this is a negative review the apartment has so much potiental .. it is in the best possible location, everything on doorstep .. coffeeshop downstairs, supermarket round the corner and a mcdonalds 200 metres away. The only thing that lets this place down is the OWNER and the lack of HYGIENE !

GET IT SORTED STARGATE AND CHILL OUT KATE !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2011

It was my 3rd stay in Amsterdam, and the first where I wasn't staying in an hostel. What a difference did it make - to have our own small appartment right in Jordaan made us feel secure, we didn't have to worry about our stuff, no need to share a shower with a dozen other people...highly recommend it. The location itself was an attic converted into an appartment, with a great view of the neighboring area. Service was extremely nice and professional, although at times it was hard to reach the person in charge. All in all, with the hostels prices getting steeper every year, there's no way I'm going back, this is the perfect alternative.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julessaulnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

5 twenty-something girls booked this hostel for 3 days but when we got to Amsterdam we couldn't find it at the address provided. We called the number and a young woman came to find us and told us she was going to put us in their ensuite apartment - which was in the red light district, across from the prostitution resource/help centre. There was no distinguishing sign to say it was a hostel and it was filthy and dirty inside, bongs included. We felt like we were in the movie Taken. We asked the girl to take us back to the hostel for the 6 person room we had booked. She then told us that it was two 4 bed rooms and one was being used by 4 American boys and that we would have to share a bathroom with them. She led us back to a sketchy white door that had obscure spray paint on it (again so sign, no window, no nothing) and it was beside a sketchy drug den and homeless shelter. She opened the door and there were wooden boards covering a huge hole in the floor and a massive set of steps that we straight up. Even if I had felt safe and wanted to go up, the girls with luggage would have never have been able to get up and I don't think I could have made it with my backpack even. Needless to say, we didn't go up and were forced to find new accomodations else where. The woman made up all these excuses then said we were mean people, but clearly this so-called business did not meet any of the standards by which a business is run. My advice, ignore any reviews on hostelworld.com, they are written by the woman (she likes to use, "American boys" as her so-called guests of choice) and look for better accomodations. Stay away, it's not worth the trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank janowhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#19 of 372 in Amsterdam
291 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
913 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#58 of 372 in Amsterdam
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#241 of 372 in Amsterdam
521 reviews
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#84 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargate Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargate Amsterdam

Address: Hekelveld 7, 1012 SN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $41 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Stargate Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing