We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anna Maria NYE visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostelboat Anna Maria II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Ranked #75 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anna Maria NYE visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay for me and one friend. We had a fairly spacious room for the fact it was a cabin, our own bathroom and shower in the room. Hospitality was fantastic, friendly hosts who helped us out a lot with where to go etc. Feel at home here rather than staying in a hotel. Lovely views from the boat and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a small but clean and cosy room in amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
7
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Read loads of reviews that slated this hostel but i ignored them as it was so cheap and booked it anyway. SO GLAD I DID! For the money it is in a brilliant location, 10 min walk from central station, 10 mins from the red light district and 15 mins from Rembrantplein! I will admit when we got on board i though 'i cant live in such a cramped place!' but when you get used to it its fine. The rooms were tiny and if you're tall theres no chance you can stay there but the beds were really comfy, the rooms were warm and the toilets and showers were spotless. Breakfast was really nice and there was lots of it. Plus as it was such a small hostel you got to chat to all the other guests and mix with them. The staff we're so helpful and nice, they'd sit and chat and recommend places to visit and even lent my friend a towel because she forgot to take one, and when we missed breakfast on the first day they made up tea and coffee and got us cereal so we wouldnt go without.
Another good point was we could sit up on the deck in the evening and have a drink with a really lovely view of Amsterdam and all the boats in the dock, i honestly couldnt recommend this place enough, its a unique place to stay and i'd def go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bany1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My friend and I were taking a weekend trip to Amsterdam and were excited about staying on a boat; unfortunately we were very disappointed. First impressions were okay, we were greeted by a lady smilling and waving through about a 3ft hatch, with extremely steep steps down to inside the boat. I certainly however did not enjoy attempting to safely climb down the stairs into the boat with my luggage. The lady who greeted us was very polite and spoke fantastic English, she also gave us information about good places to visit and the travelling system. To say the least we were shocked about the size of the room, we knew it was going to be small, but not that small! We weren't even able to pass through the door at the same time as there was not enough room, we had to create a one-way like system. The beds and the window were small, but we could cope with that. We next discovered that there was not a plug socket in our room, we asked where we could charge our phones and were told there were plug sockets in the public dining area - meaning we had to sit by our phones in the public area whilst they were charging to avoid them getting stolen, as we were told this was a possibility.

The other guests were obviously having a great time considering the amount of noise they made. We were woken several times by loud shouting/singing, whistling and laughter in the early hours of the morning i.e. 6-8am. Seeing as we had only been asleep for about an hour, we weren't exactly too happy about the noise! On one occasion one of the guys began banging on our door and shouting at us in German; unfortunately neither of us speak German. Considering that when we arrived on the boat we were sternly told to not bring 'the party' back to the boat and to have respect for the other guests; clearly the other guests did not get informed of the 'party' rules.

In the morning we had to join the queue for the shower, as the showers and toilet facilities were communal. There were only two of each of the facilities on the boat, on the plus side the toilets were clean and smelt nice! Our next serious problem was when we realised it was BYO towels as neither of us had packed one. It was however not the owners fault as it is advertised, but dont do what we did - take a towel!

Our last and final disappointment was when we had breakfast for the first time. We had read previous reviews which gave us high expectations for breakfast. We awkardly entered the dining area and discovered breakfast was just completely basic, it was just bread, jam, ham, cheese and poor refreshments. It was an experience staying on the Anna Maria II, but I certainly will not be staying there again. To add to the fun, when we checked out at 10:30am, we were greeted by extreme rain and wind!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C-Hxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Manchester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the end of July 2010 and had a 2 bunk room. If you are taller than 5 foot 5 inches I would think twice about booking here as the rooms and bunks are extremely small/short. We had the luxury of being short, so the short bunks were not an issue. You should also try to pack light as there isn't much room for luggage either.

Nonetheless, the stay was pleasant and for 25 euros a night it was fine. The room had a sink but you had to share shower and toilet facilities which were fine/clean (just cozy). As it is a boat - it can get loud depending on the other people who are booked at the same time as you; rooms are very close together and the upper deck is above the rooms ceiling so noise travels. There are no curfews.

Breakfast was simple (breads, jams, ham & cheese, cereal, coffee, tea & juice); but there was plenty of it and is enough to get you through to lunch. Basic linen is provided, but it is BYO towels.

The boat is right next to the Nemo Museum (Google maps is wrong); and it's a 10min walk to the central train station. It is a little bit of a walk to all the entertainment areas, so those who want to go clubbing etc might want somewhere closer; but there are buses and trams not far away from the boat.

All in all Hostelboat Anna Maria II was a unique experience for us and was fun, it's cheap,quiet at night (surrounding area) and safe; so what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trento88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
AmicitiA
AmicitiA
#72 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#114 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Amsterdam Hotelboat
#91 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
MPS Holland
MPS Holland
#46 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Fiep
Hotelboat Fiep
#98 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hostel Meeting Point
Hostel Meeting Point
#52 of 217 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelboat Anna Maria II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelboat Anna Maria II

Property: Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Address: Oosterdok 4, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostelboat Anna Maria II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing