We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bed with a sea view :-)”
Review of Vita Nova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vita Nova
Ranked #110 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“A bed with a sea view :-)”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

A really nice boat, close to everything, with a friendly and helpful crew. A room of my own for less than 30 € per night! A small room, but a bed with sea view and peace and quiet is all I asked for. The shower is tiny, but everything else is great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    106
    64
    16
    23
See reviews for
14
95
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I don't understand negative reviews about this place. You can't compare this to a nice hotel environment and service, so it is silly to say that management is pure or that rooms are small. Of course the rooms are small as it is a boat. the guy and the lady who run the hostel were nice and helpful. Rooms were as you would expect in the hostel, despite being small. I would probably be not staying there for four nights, but it is fine for few nights as it is a walking distance to the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audrius s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Level Contributor
122 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The location of this houseboat hostel is very good. Just 5 minutes walk from the central station of Amsterdam. We stayed at winter and we slept very good. The owner is very friendly. For budget travellers is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli_viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The boats ok but the lady who runs it is very rude on the night we arrived she over booked the boat and tried to send us to the boat next door. Then tried to over charge us even thou we had confirmation of price. It can also be quite noisy at night with people slamming doors. Your given 1 towel for your entire stay and if you ask for a fresh 1 your given a rather blunt NO. Amsterdam itself i lovely i will be going bac just won't be stayin on that boat

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank natalie198289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I really wanted to like the Vita Nova. Staying on a boat was really neat even if the rooms were tiny and the bathrooms were small, but the experience was not enjoyable.

The management of the boat is very poor. We had cancelled two nights of a four night reservation at the Vita Nova and had emailed them to confirm this, yet when we got there they had cancelled our whole reservation and blamed us for the issue. They were abrasive and accusatory and yelled at us over the situation and when we showed them the email they sent acknowledging the change, they tried to smooth it over, but the damage had been done.

Furthermore, the management of this boat were nowhere to be found when we needed them. Both at check in and check out we struggled to find the right people who could help us.

Also, the boat is very loud since there is no soundproofing. When we were there, a large group came back around 3 am on a Monday night and starting playing music in the hallway. Since the management is not around and there is no way to contact them, there was nothing we could do but be stuck awake listening to the group outside. If you want a quiet room or want to sleep without getting woken up, this is probobly not your best bet.

On the bright side, the experience of being on the water in Amsterdam was really neat. The price was reasonable and the location is not bad. Its not in the center of the action, but its an easy 10 minute walk to the main train station to grab a tram or a 15-20 minute walk to many sights around Dam square. Breakfast was also delicious and very nice for the price of the hotel.

Overall, I wouldnt stay here again though based on the noise and poor management. Staying on a boat is neat, but find a different boat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rurban88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

It's a boat, so obviously rooms are very small. But it has a lot of character. I found the owner to be pretty hilarious. He referred to himself in the third person as 'the captain' and told us not to take pictures of prostitutes because their parents back in Poland think they are housemaids. He was very helpful with giving us a map on our arrival and pointing out things we should see. The showers are weird and the walls are thin. But i mean, how much of your time do you spend showering, and bring ear plugs. Location is great, easy walk from the train station and to red light district. the free breakfast was pretty great. My sister just felt the room was too small, perhaps I prefer character over luxury.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemcgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel is so-so, although cabins are small. BUT the owner is very rude and unfriendly. Amsterdam has a lot better places to offer where the service is much friendlier. I would definitely NOT recommend staying here. I have been to Amsterdam many times, and will never stay in Vita Nova again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa1985_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Passengership Avanti
Passengership Avanti
#95 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#120 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#157 of 328 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
AmicitiA
AmicitiA
#72 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#32 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vita Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vita Nova

Property: Vita Nova
Address: Oosterdok T O 4, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vita Nova 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vita Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vita Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing