We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, few issues”
Review of Pension De Laurier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension De Laurier
Ranked #100 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location, few issues”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Overall, it was a good place, the location is great, central to lots of sites in Amsterdam (we walked everywhere). Although we had a few issues, we would consider staying here again as the value was great.
Pros: We walked from the central trains station and it did not take long at all (maybe 15-20 minutes). It's just off a major tram line for easy connections. It's close to lots of little restaurants, a grocery store as well as a laundromat. There's a kettle that we used for coffee and oatmeal in the morning and a mini fridge that we stored a few groceries to make lunches.
Cons: We had arranged to drop off our luggage early so that we could explore the city luggage free, however when it came time to do so, no one was around. It turned out the owners were away on holidays and someone else was looking after it for that time. With them being away as well, breakfast was not an option and neither was laundry. The room is small, but if you are planning on spending most of your time out and about in Amsterdam, then the space is fine. The bathroom does have a large step up and into it (higher than your average stair). It is quite noisy in the room, you can hear vehicles and people going by and the hallway that is right outside the door into the next apartment (I believe the owner's residence), there were people going in and out non-stop every night slamming the doors and talking loudly. So definitely bring your earplugs. The beds also sag into the middle and we were constantly rolling into each other and my travelling companion said her side was very lumpy. The pillows were lovely, not too large and not lumpy. Overall, for the price we paid and the location and facilities (ie bathroom and beds to sleep on) it was fairly decent.

Room Tip: The only thing I would make sure of before you book this is if the owners are going to be around or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yomo360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Location - This is a great little place in the Jordaan area. We just loved the residential feel of the area, it's quiet and peaceful, and a world away from the drunk, stoned tourist hordes of the Medieval Area. It's walkable from Centraal station or three stops on the tram. There's a cute little brown cafe on the corner and the room is only a couple of doors from the canal. It formed the perfect base for our six day stay. We would definitely stay here again.

The host - Tarif is a really friendly, helpful guy that got us settled quickly and efficiently on arrival and was good to chat to if we had any questions. Any correspondence in the lead up to our stay was handled quickly and efficiently. As there were no incoming guests on the day of our departure, we were allowed extended use of the room on departure day which was a great help - really appreciated this.

The room - The room has a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. It's at street level so no worries about hauling bags upstairs but ear plugs are a good idea as you can hear any sounds in the street, and we copped some noise from the neighbours one night, sounds like they had a dinner party. A computer is provided in room, although we did not use it because the wifi was fine for our needs.

Bathroom - great shower, plentiful hot water. A soap dish wouldn't go astray though, but everything else was fine.

Tip - on the corner of the street and Rozengracht is a large organic foods store which is run by a really friendly couple of girls where you can stock up on all sorts of yummy foods including pre-prepared meals and baguettes, lovely fruit, wine, cheeses and yoghurts etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is by far one of the best value for money places I have stayed at! The rooms are super clean and very modern. It Is close to a beautiful canal and within walking distance to a tram station. The host was very helpful and friendly also answering his phone out of hours to assist me with a problem. Definitely would come back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinny03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and all I can say is that it was AMAZING!!
The room was very nice and tidy, the bathroom very modern and with a huge shower.
The owners Anneke and Tarif are very nice and helped us with everything we needed, no matter if it was breafast or some advice about what to do in the city. Speaking of the breakfast: For 7,50€ we could chose what we wanted. What we got was some muesli with milk and yoghurt, some ham/salami, cheese, 2 eggs, butter and some delicious wholegrain bread + some of those chocolate and caramel crumbles. The drinks: 2 glasses of freshly pressed orange juice and coffee with milk froth. We were not able to eat all of it, so we packed some of it for lunch, so if you're travelling on low budget, it is a good opportunity to save money.
This is the best low price accomodation I have ever seen!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Vroni95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this apartment and we were really pleased with everything. The owner was very friendly and helpful, we had tea and coffee making facilities. Quiet area but only a 10min walk to the main street and also close to main train and tram stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
262 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in this apartment, with its own street level entry in the Jordaan area.
Well received by the owner, it has tea & coffee facilities, and free wifi & computer.
It could get some renovations, regarding curtains and a handle for the toilet door, but was clean and tidy.
Last day visitors in the attached flat wanted to party, and the noise partially spoiled our experience.
Overall: a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A Fair priced apartment in a quiet but well located area. The apartment has a good sized shower, free internet, kettle ,fridge and a tv that picks up bbc channels and premiership football! The owner met us on arrival and was very welcoming. The apartment opens right onto a quiet neighbourhood street in the Jordaan, just 25metres from a canal. Ann Frank house is less than 10 minutes walk away, There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. there r some problems with the door to the shower and the The curtain on the window does not close well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#80 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#119 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Jordaan
Shelter Jordan - Amsterdam Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#199 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#34 of 226 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Jordaan
Since1634
Since1634
#208 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension De Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension De Laurier

Property: Pension De Laurier
Address: 1e Laurierdwarsstraat 52, 1016 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension De Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De Laurier Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing