We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Pension De Laurier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension De Laurier
Ranked #98 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in this apartment and we were really pleased with everything. The owner was very friendly and helpful, we had tea and coffee making facilities. Quiet area but only a 10min walk to the main street and also close to main train and tram stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valladolid, Spain
Level Contributor
279 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for a weekend in this apartment, with its own street level entry in the Jordaan area.
Well received by the owner, it has tea & coffee facilities, and free wifi & computer.
It could get some renovations, regarding curtains and a handle for the toilet door, but was clean and tidy.
Last day visitors in the attached flat wanted to party, and the noise partially spoiled our experience.
Overall: a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

A Fair priced apartment in a quiet but well located area. The apartment has a good sized shower, free internet, kettle ,fridge and a tv that picks up bbc channels and premiership football! The owner met us on arrival and was very welcoming. The apartment opens right onto a quiet neighbourhood street in the Jordaan, just 25metres from a canal. Ann Frank house is less than 10 minutes walk away, There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby. there r some problems with the door to the shower and the The curtain on the window does not close well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shimonani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed here for the weekend at the end of February.

The room has it's own door that opens up onto a (safe) backstreet, so you enter the bedroom straight from the street. The room is a good size, it's clean and the bed is really comfortable. (I think it's a memory foam mattress). There's a kettle and a fridge in the room, and plates and cutlery.

The bathroom is nice and modern, however it's a little cold as it doesn't have a radiator. It has a door that you have to kind of fold to close, but it could do with a handle on the inside so it closes properly. But it's still very nice!

The area is quite residential however it's still central to everything. Dam Square is about 10 mins away. There's a supermarket about 5 mins away near the Anne Frank House, and a traditional Dutch restaurant to eat at called Bij Ons.that I must recommend! It's more like living in Amsterdam than just visiting. We loved it!

So overall, I would definitely come back to this place next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cragyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Have just returned from a winter trip in Amsterdam in up to minus 10. The location was beautiful, in a great location which made accessing all the sights easy particularly in the difficult weather. My partner and I added the breakfast which saved us time and money, a brilliant way to start the morning and the hosts were a lovely couple and the place was very clean.

The reason I am not giving Pension De Laurier an excellent rating is simple - the bed! It is very noisy, every time you sit it creaks so loudly and one half of the bed dips lower than the other which made sleeping quite uncomfortable. I think it is time they invested in a new ikea number to deal with this problem.

If they do this with that then I would advise all to stay here and I would gladly return. This is a perfect base for a trip in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RezzaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

If you are looking for a good priced apartment in a quiet but well located area this is the place for you. The apartment has a good sized shower, free internet, kettle ,fridge and a tv that picks up bbc channels and premiership football! The owner met us on arrival and was very welcoming. The apartment opens right onto a quiet neighbourhood street in the Jordaan, just 25metres from a canal. Ann Frank house is less than 10 minutes walk away, centraal station is 15/20 minutes away and the Prinzengracht about 100 metres away. There are lots of restaurants and bars nearby with plenty of types of cuisine to choose from.
An excellent choice at a good price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hergest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

very welcoming host.
flat clean and as described, perfect location, quiet yet mins from dam square, ann frank house. Breakfast provided at extra cost if required, but kettle,dishes,etc supplied to do you own, and a fridge,Cable tv.
Lots of restaurants and pubs near by, and near tram stops.
Can't fault it at all. perfect!.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyguyamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#202 of 332 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#33 of 229 in Amsterdam
141 reviews
Jordaan
B&B Wladimir Studios
B&B Wladimir Studios
#134 of 332 in Amsterdam
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#105 of 332 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Jordaan
AMS Suites
AMS Suites
#59 of 332 in Amsterdam
104 reviews
Jordaan
Since1634
Since1634
#206 of 332 in Amsterdam
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension De Laurier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension De Laurier

Property: Pension De Laurier
Address: 1e Laurierdwarsstraat 52, 1016 PZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 229 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension De Laurier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension De Laurier Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing