We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great location but no frills” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hoksbergen Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoksbergen Apartments
Save
You added Hoksbergen Apartments to your Saves list
Ranked #288 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location but no frills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

A 2 minute stroll from the main hotel, these apartments were ideally located in the heart of Amsterdam in one of their traditional buildings, meaning that it is narrow with very steep stairs. We only had one bag and were on the first floor, so it didn't cause us too much trouble, but the handrail is needed. Externally, the building has character and gives you a feel for what it must be like for a local, however, inside the building and rooms are a little basic, but adequate.
For us it ticked the boxes, having a central location, away from the noisier red light district and avoiding the need to box separate rooms for our young adults/kids.
As you open the door off the street, it did smell a little damp, but it was fine elsewhere.
Coming from a semi-rural town in Scotland, we did find the single-glazed windows and frames, and the curtains did little to mute noise from the street, but at least it is a fairly quiet area. However we were still woken up several times each night: I think noise gets caught in the narrow street. We saw it all as part of the experience.
Dam Square is less than a 10 minute walk. Cafes with coffee and croissants, supermarkets and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk.
The kitchen and bathroom were basic but adequate.
The photos show the apartments at their very best. I think they could now do with a little TLC and improved lighting.

Room Tip: Higher may be quieter, but be ready for the steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_4Ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Loved the location as soon as we reached. Canal facing hotel close to Dam square(10 min).Getting bags to the second floor was only half the challenge! There was no place in the room for 2 bags. But the canal view from the room, great breakfast included, friendly staff, convenient location make it a great place to rest while exploring amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deepaktirthani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avezzano
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Typical dutch apartment...good enough in order to spend some days enjoying Amsterdam city. The apartment has all the minimum facilities required . Its location (a few meters from DAM square) is ideal to visit any part of the center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc0ELisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The apartment annex was comfortable and had all the necessary requirements. The room was basic. The beds were comfortable. It was central and we were able to walk everywhere. It was as advertised. Good value, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#157 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#190 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#142 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#83 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoksbergen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoksbergen Apartments

Property: Hoksbergen Apartments
Address: Gasthuismolensteeg 10, 1016 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoksbergen Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing