We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Staying for the Second Time. Johannes Vermeer. Lovely!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dutch Masters Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dutch Masters Apartments
Ranked #65 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
USA and Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Staying for the Second Time. Johannes Vermeer. Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We are currently staying in The beautiful Vermeer apartment for the second time. Will happily return here next time we are in Amsterdam.
Melanie the live in caretaker is so lovely, kind and welcoming..
The large living area of this apartment is nicely furnished and just fabulous and we feel like we are living in our own apartment in the best location in Amsterdam.
Restaurants shops and sights are all around this great area and within easy walking to most attractions.
There is a 42 inch TV with DVD player, dining table for 4 , large comfortable couch. The ceilings are 5 meters high and it overlooks the canal and quiet street outside. There was enough space to have friends visit during the day. The Kitchen and bathroom are both great. There is a coffee machine, microwave and full kitchen.
Bedrooms (2) in our apartment are very small and beds and pillows could be more comfortable, but we are willing to overlook this because everything else is great!
Like other guests, We had initial issues with the unseen management group as well. (Not Melanie) . Ie they contacted us a week out from arrival time threatening to cancel our booking unless we immediately filled out and send /fax/scan paperwork and signed credit card details back..We had booked on Expedia and had never had this happen before. When traveling this strange request was very difficult to get done, and dreadful to have the stress we could lose the booking and have to find another place at the last minute. The Management company seriously needs to review their attitude.
However once we arrived it was all worth it.
We saw into many of the other apartments and they were also fabulous, spacious modern and bright.

Happy to recommend this great Apartment complex. Such a nice change from hotel.
Melanie.. You were delightful.. And very helpful.. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvin-Life+Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We booked the Jeroen Bosch apartment in April for a late September stay of 5 nights. We wanted to stay in a canal house but needed a property on the ground floor because of the notoriously steep stairs. My husband has had heart surgery and I have arthritic knees. Climbing the stairs would be problematic, especially with luggage. We received the confirmation and assumed all was well. We travel often and always try to stay in apartments and have never had a problem with our reservation not being honored until this apartment. After reading others experiences of problems with the booking, it seems to be a trend, not a mistake. The Jeroen Bosch apartment which we had reserved 5 months prior was on the ground flor and included a lovely garden. The apartment we were given was at the top of the building, no garden. The management company blamed the owner and the representative of the owner blamed the management company. I don't know if the problem was intentional but it seems likely that this company has a history of booking, rebooking and shuffling guest to what ever room suits them. We loved Amsterdam and had a great stay in spite of this experience. Would not hesitate to go back to Amsterdam but will not recommend this company to anyone. Bad policies, bad management. The woman who checked us in was very kind, Milani, but all she could say was how sorry she was. I got the impression she has had to apologize often for a booking "error". Be aware. With this company, a reservation is worth very little.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeitallsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

review from a youngish couple (26yo fit not fussy)

there was confusion with someone apparently cancelling our booking(booked via expedia) which had us very worried at 6:30pm on a cold amsterdam night.
thankfully with some help from another guest calling the attendnt we were in there within 15 minutes. she explained there simply must have been a mix up and was sooo unbelievably nice we instantly felt reassured and relaxed.

she showed us all around and told us how to contact her + all instructions for the place etc.
this room is one of only 2 that has access to the courtyard which was lovely (dont forget your mozzie repelant tho!)

bed was comfortable - one if those ones where u cant really feel if the other person is moving
kitchen well equipped
heating/cooling was good
quiet area
lovely treats provided and stuff for cooking/cleaning

IN SUMMARY the only issue was the dicky little hand basins - very cute but very impractical
I would return here and recommend this place to anyone who asked. Like home away from home.
10/10 to the lovely lady who helped us with check in.

Room Tip: only two have courtyard access if you are interested
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calo_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel's location is central, overlooking Keizersgracht, yet in a calm and quite neighbourhood, there's a tram and bus stations close by, making it easy to get at by public transport from both Central Station and the airport.

We faced a small problem upon arrival as our room was was already given to someone else (a double booking issue due to a system error), but (to our delight) we were upgraded to Herman Brood residence, a modern apartment, with a daring and colourful design.
The place was clean and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay: coffee machine, microwave, dishwasher, stove, washer/dryer, a very pleasant main room with a big windows and a beautiful view.

The only minus was the bed, which is not double but two twin beds linked... they constantly slide apart. In addition the mattress was very soft and the pillows quite big and uncomfortable.

Overall a great place that I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in the Van Gogh apartment. As the title says, it was good as a place to stay, but they could've done much more (especially considering the price per night!) I'd still recommend a serviced apartment over a hotel any day, but I'm not all too sure I'd recommend THIS apartment over others. We've stayed at other apartments that have definitely surpassed this one.

The pros: Great location, wonderful garden out back, decent design, and not a bad selection of amenities.

The cons: The apartment is quite small at 50 square meters. Given real estate prices here, I get it...we're probably staying in an apartment worth half a million dollars at least. But our bedroom, for instance, fit only the bed and absolutely nothing else. Speaking of the bed, it was hard getting a good night's sleep because the pillows were too large to actually function as a pillow. It's also impossible to use the wash basin in the bathroom to wash your face because it's so tiny! We spilled water everywhere every time we tried. Also, the place is dimly lit. No matter how many of the lights we turned on, it never seemed like a bright, cheerful space. We used the living room/couches for our luggage and closet space because we didn't have one in the apartment. This meant that the place always felt a little cluttered no matter what.

The amenities were okay, but nothing exceptional. For instance, they have a dishwasher...but provide no soap for it or for the sink. They have a washer and dryer...but no soap for that, either. Decent knife, but couldn't find a cutting board. Or sponge. There's a Senso coffee maker... but you have to buy your own coffee. We honestly didn't mind paying for these things, but additional touches like this make or break a place. It simply wasn't user-ready from the outset. If these things were provided I'd offer an extra star.

The vibe of the apartment was also a little problematic, starting at check-in. Our flight arrived late (1:30am). When we told them this, they wanted to charge a 50-euro check-in fee. I laughed and said to my husband, "Just on principle...let's cancel one night, check into a 50-euro hotel when we arrive and go to the apartment in the morning. That's an absurd policy. I'd sooner have them miss out on 250 euros for our night than condone that." When we replied and said we'd simply cancel a night, THEN they said they'd be willing to check us in late sans fee. Of course... this wasn't without the check-in person commenting how tired she was and how she had to wake up early the next day when she checked us in. Pretty unprofessional, all said and done.

In other apartments they offer guests guidebooks of the city. Here? Well, as others have commented, you're greeted with a host of signs and booklets with do's and don'ts. Keep the door closed, empty the trash on Tuesdays and Fridays, turn off the air condition, don't smoke, lose the key and pay 200 euros, etc. Not very welcoming. If they were really concerned about the guests trashing the place as they seem to be, they could offer maid service like other serviced apartments (hint hint).

I still give 3 stars because it's a good space. It's clean, well-designed and makes for a good crash pad in the city. But would I stay here again? We'd probably look into other options first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCapozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Great appartment, great location. Just two remarks:
- it is unfortunate that there is no elevator and you have to walk up so many narrow stairs, especially upon arrival and departure with all the luggage
- it is too bad that there is only one bathroom in the appartment
Despite all that it is a great place, very clean, lovely view, excellent location! We would definetely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#161 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#28 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
#43 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Apartments Prinsengracht
#82 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Masters Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Masters Apartments

Property: Dutch Masters Apartments
Address: Keizersgracht 580 A, 1017 EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dutch Masters Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Masters Luxury Apartments in Amsterdam offers luxurious apartments in the heart of historic Amsterdam. There are 9 residences in this complex of varying sizes, with one, two and three bedrooms. The features range from roof deck, garden, classic canal view, 4 meter ceilings and 400 year old details. All residences are equipped with design interiors, a full kitchen and kitchen inventory, washer/dryer, linen, private safe and broadband internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Dutch Masters Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Masters Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing