We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

The One Roomed Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The One Roomed Guesthouse
Ranked #130 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My husband and i stayed at Anne's room for 2 days and it was just excellent. was so central to everything and were right in the middle of the red light district but was not too seedy at the same time. we had to walk up the stairs to our room which was huge and clean and bed wa sso comfy. we could walk many places from anne's room as it was so cnetral. when we came down there are numerous shops and eateries to choose from. for the price we paid the room was so worth it. would defnitely be back again without a doubt. if with kids might be a bit of a problem climbing stairs and all. we didnt bring our 2 kids which is why we booked a b&b which is cheaper though no lift. no regrets at all. however if u do want to stay with ur kids i think should be ok not sure if owner provised a cot or extra bed. there is 1 huge bed for 2 adults. and lots more space to put another bed if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAHA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

I think that if you are a couple visiting Amsterdam this is the perfect place for you to stay: small, cosy, romantic, central positioned, close to everything and anything and compared to other hotel prices in Amsterdam it's really cheap
Be sure to leave your car in the P+R Zeeburg and take the tram until the main station. From there just walk through the Red Light District to the studio

Room Tip: Call the owners before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Anne's Room. The name almost says all, it's a little room, or rather a tiny appartment in the middle of the most hectic part of downtown Amsterdam. On the left hand you have the red light district and on the right loads and loads of restaurants, shops, bars etc etc.

The room is located in a backyard, so even though its in the middle of everything its still quiet, at least when you have the windows closed. It has a small kitchen area, a table with two chairs, tv, dvd player and a descent sized bathroom.

If you arrive by car, as we did, you are asked to meet the hostes Kitty at her own house, this is so you can park the car for free, as you downtown Amsterdam easily can pay more for parking than for a hotel room. She was a very nice lady, who gave us the key and welcomed us to Amsterdam. She also gave us a few hints on the way.

There are some minor no so good things, the stair to the appartment are very steep, if you are not fit or have very heavy luggage you will struggle to get up there. There is very little opportunity to put away your clothing, there is one cupboard with one shelve available. Also one broken window glass was actually replaced by cardboard.

All together I would recommend this place if you want the action of the very intense part of downtown Amsterdam, If you are looking for peace and quiet I would find something away from the centre near a Tram line for easy access.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Within 15 mins walk from main station. Brilliant location. Welcomed by Kitty, who was friendly and helpful. Our room was up three very steep flights of stairs, which is typical of the area. The room was fine with very adequete shower/toilet, and kitchen area with fridge, stove top, small oven, kettle and coffee maker. Fresh flowers and a bottle of wine awaited us. In spite of being so close to the lively red light area, and it being a Saturday night with many large groups of noisy visitors it was very peaceful. My only disappointment was that there was no outside seating area, which had been mentioned in the advertisement, however in my opinion, the ventilation was fine as there were two windows which allowed a through draught of air.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwash6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinsonnBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabrieleNapoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaRossola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Roomed Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Roomed Guesthouse

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 142, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $231 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a lovely studio in the very heart of Amsterdam. Located in a old trading building on the famous Amsterdam canals. The room has it's own private patio, great to use in the summer nights or have breakfast in the open fresh air. It has it's own private shower and toilet. The studio is near the red light district and in a very urban neighborhood. Shops, bars, restaurants, markets and museums are all within a walking distance.We are gay friendly, the best gay bars are just around the corner!We are able to offer breakfast as well, this is not included in the price. Please let us know it you are interested in having our famous dutch breakfasts.Public transport is within a 2 minute walk. And it is a 5 minute walk to Central Station.Places that are within a 10 minute walk distance: - waterloo flea market - red light district - amsterdam shopping area - flower market - leidse square entertainment area - dam square (royal palace) - Nieuw Markt - van gogh museum - Museum Plein (entertainment area)If in need of a bed for a baby, this is possible.We have free wireless internet, TV, DVD, microwave, small kitchen, toilet, bathroom, king size bed and discount for renting bikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing