We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location! Excellent Loft!”
Review of Frans Hals Loft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Frans Hals Loft
Ranked #84 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the loft for three nights for a mini break! We absolutely loved everything about the loft! A proper Amsterdam experience!! The loft is located in a very nice area! Quiet and beautiful! There are plenty of restaurants and bars very close by and the centre of Amsterdam is a ten minute tram ride away!! You can walk to the national museum and Vondel park from the loft! Also there is a very nice market literally a two minute walk away!

The loft itself is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam! It has everything that you could possibly need! Other reviews mention steep stairs but my husband and I found the stairs no problem at all! So do not let that put you off as you will truly be missing out on a great experience! When we arrived which was quiet late in the evening the owner Wienek was there to greet us and took us up to the loft carrying one of our bags! We found that the Fridge was stocked with Breakfast items and even beer which was greatly appreciated after our flight! Tea, coffee, fresh bread! Perfect!!! There as even shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom for us! Wienik could not have been more welcoming or helpful, we forgot to bring our tickets for the heiniken experience and he printed them out for us! On departing the loft he ordered us a taxi and prior to arriving emailed me directions on how to get to the loft and provided me with a list of local restaurants and bars! Perfect!

The loft itself was very good value for money! As i mentioned it is in a gorgeous area of Amsterdam! It is very easily located! And the loft itself is very very clean and very nicely decorated, layed out, and has all amenities that one would need!

I very strongly recommend that you book this loft on your next trip to Amsterdam!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julzlong83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Frans Hals Loft
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We really loved our 4 nights stay in this loft apartment. The owner was lovely and made sure we had a comfortable stay. The fridge came fully stocked and the apartment had everything we needed to cook a few nights dinner. Great location, around the corner from the Heineken Brewery and within walking distance of some other sights. It's located in a nice little street which was quiet during the day with a few bars and local hangouts opening at night. It felt like the 'real' Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellieg1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April...The apartment is very comfy. and clean . The small kitchen is very functional and the fridge was VERY well stocked....( eggs, bacon, milk, cheese, bread ,butter and more )..The bed is extremely comfortable...As almost everyone else has said , the stairs up to the room are quite steep and narrow but really worth the effort .( heavy cases not recommended ) The apartment is flooded with sunshine in the morning and really quiet at night...As for the location...PERFECT...Close to the market, museums , and lots of restos and cafes nearby. ( very good coffee )...There are 2 supermarkets around the corner. The host was on hand to check us in and even printed our airline tickets on check out...Thanks for a great stay in a beautiful city. .Hope to stay here again...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanne-john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This apartment is a little gem. You DO need to be fit (not necessarily young) to get up and down the narrow and steep stairwell. Be realistic; if you’re 80+lbs over and have bad knees, this is NOT the place for you. That said, this charming attic apartment is in a great spot--not too far from anything. There are lots of good restaurants nearby and the wonderful Albert Culp market. Wienik, the owner, is right on! The fridge was well stocked---good quality products. We stayed a week and hope to return.
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cre8Pinot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband booked this place for 4 days stay in May 2013. One of his colleagues recommended this place and it was really a perfect choice. Whenever I recall the time we spent here, I am completely lost in the beautiful memories. Staff members were very accommodating; they never behaved liked strangers and were very friendly. Every request was properly heard and considered. Rooms were very beautifully decorated and very clean. Bed was comfortable and washroom was luxurious. Food was mind blowing. We had a great time together in this gorgeous property. I will definitely recommend this place to my other friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renata A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Great apartment, has everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Spotlessly clean, stocked fridge on arrival. Fantastic location is in a residential area so has the advantage of great eating places away from the sometimes tacky (but great fun) tourist areas. Within walking/cycling distance of all attractions but good transport links if your not feeling so active. Would not hesitate to return!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kjersti G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel
Sir Albert Hotel
#36 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,367 reviews
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#227 of 371 in Amsterdam
580 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#116 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Asterisk
#141 of 371 in Amsterdam
457 reviews
De Pijp
Rijksmuseum Residence
Rijksmuseum Residence
#142 of 238 in Amsterdam
7 reviews
De Pijp
Ollies Bed & Breakfast
Ollies Bed & Breakfast
#54 of 238 in Amsterdam
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frans Hals Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frans Hals Loft

Address: Frans Halsstraat 74, 1072 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Frans Halshuis)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 238 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $132 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Frans Hals Loft 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Frans Hals Loft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing