We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in the heart of Amsterdam”
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B 1680
Ranked #145 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Central location in the heart of Amsterdam”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

A very central location is the best thing about this B&B. We stayed in the B&W room at the back of the house which was very quiet but not quite as luxurious as the photos on their web site made out. The room was huge with a large double bed but that was about it. Bathroom basic but adequate, good shower but no toiletries. The picnic hamper breakfast was an interesting start to the day and there was plenty to eat but no milk provided. As the location is so central it was easy to pick up left luggage on the way to the station on our homeward journey. Overall, would have expected a little bit more for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie_HYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Black & White room over the weekend. It was a lovely spacious room in as central location as you could ask for. We were provided with a nice breakfast each morning of fresh fruit, juice and rolls and spreads. Everything about the b&b was really comfortable and made for a really lovely stay. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfredtheduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Like most of the reviews previous to this I only have good things to say about B&B 1680. We spent 3 perfect days in Amsterdam whilst based in the apartment at the top of the B&B. The open plan apartment was spotless, spacious and bright and has everything you could want for your stay including a fantastic view over the canal and down the street from the front window - a great spot for enjoying some people watching!! The added bonus was, whilst we had our own kitchen facilities, our breakfast – a selection of breads, jams and fruit – was delivered daily by Eugenie (one of the owners). One thing to bear in mind though is it’s reached by 3 flights of narrow spiralled staircase – it wasn’t an issue for us as after the first couple of climbs we soon became accustomed to it!

The B&B is in a pretty Dutch-style building on a canal and can be easily located by looking out for one of the owner’s personally designed corsets in the front window. It’s situated in a lively area at the top of the red light district and whilst this may not be to everyone’s liking we found it to be perfect – a short walk from the station and close to many good bars and restaurants, including those at Nieuwmarkt, an ideal spot for al fresco drinks/food. Amsterdam is a very walking-friendly city and we covered many of the main attractions on foot from the B&B.

We had a great time in Amsterdam and I would definitely recommend it to all – don’t be put off by the red light district, it is definitely a sight to behold! We definitely hope to return to the city again one day and wouldn’t hesitate to stay in 1680!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
329 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

You couldn't find a more centrally located B&B than the 1680. It is a 15 minute walk from the train station and nicely located on a canal. It just borders the interesting Red Light District. The New Market square with its many restaurants is just a couple of blocks away, as is the main shopping street. Each morning we were brought a nice basket of breakfast items. And each day was different. We were thoroughly impressed with the congeniality of the hosts who went out of their way to accommodate us and to hold our luggage on the last day so we could get in some last-minute sight-seeing. This is a great B&B!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very central location in easy walking distance of main attractions. We stayed in the White Room with a canal view. It's is small but fine for a weekend break. Bed is sunken and so comfortable, the unusual chandelier is a talking point. Good shower in a small bathroom, breakfast is delivered to the room the night before and contained various breads, fresh fruit, juice, jams, honey etc.. It is right in the Red Light district so not for the feint hearted but you can easily walk via Dam square to avoid any windows! It can be noisy at night so shut the windows and secondary glazing and it's silent!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CiaoBella13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful little 2-room hotel. We stayed in the white room for 3 nights. It's a rather small room, but very comfortable and clean. Had everything we needed and didn't have that nasty 'hotel' feeling. It really feels like you're staying at your friend's house.
The only minor complaint was absence of cheese or meat at breakfast, but considering the price within the location - that's nothing.
The location is very nice - walking distance from the train station and even though it's basically just outside the red light district and the windows in our room were facing the street - it wasn't at all noisy at night.
If you prefer small private hotels - it's just perfect!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariadna846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed in the "white room" in June and had a great experience. The room was clean and simple, located in the in the heart of Amsterdam. We loved being able to open up the windows in the morning and peer out onto the streets below. The breakfast in bed idea is terrific and the hosts provide a nice selection for breakfast including juice, coffee, fruit, breads, and an assortment of spreads.

As for the location, it is very central. Please keep in mind however, the b&b is only located about one block away from the red light district which can at times be a bit noisy, but we really didn't have any issues. Overall we had a great stay in a unique building. It really does feel as if you are living in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kristraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#245 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#251 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
#246 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Ultraviolet Studios
Ultraviolet Studios
#82 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Manikomio
Manikomio
#75 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Property: B & B 1680
Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation and free Wi-Fi in this monumental, 17th century canal house, conveniently situated in the oldest part of Amsterdam city centre. The 2 rooms of the Bed & Breakfast 1680 each offer a private bathroom, a DVD-player and a fridge. Every morning a fresh breakfast is served up to your room, including orange juice, sandwiches, spreads, coffee and tea. Whether it’s the bright elegance of the white room or the warm atmosphere of the black & white room, you will have a comfortable base for your city trip. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the canal or the wonderful inner courtyard. Just 1 minute from the popular Red Light District and 2 minutes from Dam Square, this B&B provides you with an excellent location.About the Innkeepers:Joost is a MD working in the largest hospital of Amsterdam and Dennis is a fashion designer, specilised in corsets.When you enter the house, you will see a collection of his creations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast 1680

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing