We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Botel Zebra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botel Zebra
Ranked #287 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Botel Zebra is located in the harbour area not far away from the city centre (10min walk?). it is - beeing a boat - pretty tiny and so the beds and baths aren't that big, too. The staff doesn't speak much english, but is friendly and helpful with information about amsterdam (food, parking etc.). the boat is clean and the breakfast is good (continental). there isn't much to complain about, except from the stairs that scare the hell out of you when your drunk or in comparable conditions...
It is - as said in the title - a quiet place so you can step back from partying.
There is a common room which is not that comfortable, but you will be straying around in the city anyway. i liked zebra - it gave our amsterdam trip something special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 109 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

Very good for the price you pay.
Friendly and helpful staff,
Small but functionally and clean rooms with private bathroom and toilet.
Very good breakfast
Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjotr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Had a pleasant stay in amsterdam with amsterdam. The botel is located near the Amsterdam Centraal Station, (10 minutes walk) just look the NEMO science center ( the green shiplike building). The space is clean and cozy. Excellent water pressure (had a nice bath!)

They serve excellent selection of breakfast (cereals, pastries, fruits, and different types of cheese!)

The hospitality is very warm and i had a nice time and will definitely comeback here :)

Experience Amsterdam in a unique way by checking in a botel!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunkissedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonking5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

This man was not even inside our botel, he could not not find it because he did not read our mails with directions how to go to the botel. Then he checked in by one of our colleges and now he is very angry that we withdraw the first night of his credit card.
While he was not even inside by us, how can he know about: Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. He did not even see a bed!!!
This is revenge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, i think some of the reviews are very over exagerate. The rooms were small, but there was enough room to get changed, have a shower, and sleep comfortably. The moisture on the ceiling only occurs if the shower door is open or the port hole is not open, this only happened to us on the last day, but my boyfriend and i both had showers everyday and had no problems at all. If you don't want a wet floor - put towels down.

The atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed and really nice, the staff were very helpful and not at all rude. Breakfast is continental as is with most hotels and hostels (this was our 7th visit to Amsterdam), there is a fruit bread, bread rolls, cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, yoghurt etc.

We thought the botel had a very nice quirky feel and we will be DEFINATELY be booking to stay there again.

Room Tip: Always take extra socks and plasters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach1987_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

I've read a lot of negative reviews for this place both on TripAdvisor and on HostelWorld and I have to say, I didn't think it was that bad. We only stayed for two nights, and although I wouldn't say it was the best lodging I've ever had...it was safe, it had free wifi, and it was clean enough. I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay, especially if you consider yourself a more high maintenance person. The rooms are really just for sleeping (very small) and the bathroom situation is...temperamental (their toilet system is prone to having issues), but overall, you get what you paid for and it is relatively cheap considering it is Amsterdam.

I'm going to say 'yes' to recommending this hotel, but I really only direct this towards people traveling on a budget or planning on a short stay in Amsterdam. Otherwise, I suggest looking elsewhere.

PS something not listed on HostelWorld: they have a dog, for those of you with allergies.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeshy9842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Botel Zebra's cabins are soooooo tiny and not very clean. The beds are made for 5 year olds. The tiny bathrooms are dirty and the shower curtains might be 100 years old. The "continental" breakfast consist of dry old bread and tasteless cold meet. I would really not recommend this botel to ladies or "romantic couples". Hope this helps. ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 374 in Amsterdam
212 reviews
Amstel Botel
#165 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,903 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#264 of 374 in Amsterdam
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#150 of 374 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 374 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Zebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Zebra

Address: PO Box 2430, 1000 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #287 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $69 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Botel Zebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Zebra Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing