We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and traditional”
Review of Restaurant Tomaz

Restaurant Tomaz
Reserve with
Restaurant Tomaz is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 4,794 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Tomaz is situated in the centre of Amsterdam near 'Het Begijnhof'. Tomaz is a small, cosy restaurant that serves traditional Dutch food of high quality in a friendly environment. Everything is homemade, always using fresh ingredients,often organic. Tomaz cooks the traditional Dutch local kitchen like stamppot, green pea soup (only in winter) and the famous Dutch beefstew as well as a modern interpretation of Dutch regional cuisine (all available for lunch and dinner!, also vegetarian Dutch dishes).Tomaz is: personal service, warm and welcoming atmosphere, lovely terrace, boardgames and free WiFi.We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, or just drinks. For groups (10-40 persons) Tomaz offers the special Dutch Table, a family-style taste of all our Dutch dishes.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

This small restaurant is tucked away behind the Beginhof so be careful to check the exact location before setting out. The menu is limited but traditional and the place has a local, friendly feel.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Laurence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

We had done the Linen market, and the Flea market, and despite coffee and apple pie walked from Noorderkerk via splendid canals to Begijnshof. So mashpot and beer was just the job, and both superbly prepared and delicious. Recommended as a cosy pub with friendly atmosphere, but no loud music

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank NH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

We had the stampot for two followed by apple pie. Both were really tasty. It's a really rustic friendly place and we had a great time.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jennym980332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019 via mobile

We had the bitterballen and fish sticks and were very nice. The main course was a traditional meal consisting of mash with kale/sauerkraut and sausage/beefstew. Very tasty food and very friendly service.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

Our group of friends tried Tomaz during our annual trip together. Our hotel had suggested we try some authentic Dutch cuisine and we are so grateful! Try the beef stew with potatoes and red cabbage and the baked pear ice cream for dessert! I wish I remembered our server’s name, she was efficient and charming. The atmosphere was warm and cozy, perfect for a rainy March evening. Nice crowd at the bar too-

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Ruthwb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomazamsterdam, Eigenaar at Restaurant Tomaz, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2019

Thank you Ruth for your kind words and hope to see you again at Tomaz!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tomaz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Tomaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing