We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of Restaurant Tomaz

Restaurant Tomaz
Reserve with
Restaurant Tomaz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #101 of 3,858 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Tomaz is situated in the centre of Amsterdam near 'Het Begijnhof'. Tomaz is a small, cosy restaurant that serves traditional Dutch food of high quality in a friendly environment. Everything is homemade, always using fresh ingredients,often organic. Tomaz cooks the traditional Dutch local kitchen like stamppot, green pea soup (only in winter) and the famous Dutch beefstew as well as a modern interpretation of Dutch regional cuisine (all available for lunch and dinner!, also vegetarian Dutch dishes).Tomaz is: personal service, warm and welcoming atmosphere, lovely terrace, boardgames and free WiFi.We are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner, or just drinks. For groups (10-40 persons) Tomaz offers the special Dutch Table, a family-style taste of all our Dutch dishes.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Found this little gem when visiting Amsterdam last weekend and was pleasantly surprised by the food, it was so fabulous! The atmosphere is cozy and quaint, staff is friendly not overly attentive but most importantly the food is delicious. Definitely recommend for a drink or meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 855LisaD855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    284
    55
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
“Excellent food, take food intolerances serious!!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A home away from home! As intolerant to gluten, Amsterdam turned out to be a negative experience "food-wise". Tomaz and his staff took excellent care of me, and had a lot of options on the menu.
Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff - highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Lamb!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a great little place in Amsterdam. Me and my wife like the places that are less touristy and this definitely fits the bill. The lamb chops were the best that I have ever had!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brad71313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heimdal, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Genuine and nice”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is really a pearl in Amsterdam! Very nice and clean little restaurant with a cosy atmosphere.
You feel welcome from the moment you step inside. I strongly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrudeN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Delicious Dutch Food!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Lovely, cozy little restaurant with some of the most fresh and tasty traditional Dutch food we had while in Amsterdam. The restaurant is small with dim lighting, perfect for an intimate dinner with a friend or loved one. They also have several board games and books to use while there, we played Connect Four over beers while waiting for our food to arrive.

The portions are very large, we had the tomato soup and the starter portion of ravioli filled with mash pot served with Dutch beef stew. Both dishes were great and so flavorful. The tomato soup was thick and definitely not your average bowl of tomato soup. We were pretty full after these 2 dishes so we didn't even get a chance to try some of the delicious sounding main plates. We ended our meal with the crepe with blood orange ice cream which was the only dish that we weren't really crazy about, cold ice cream that just tasted like orange sherbet, nothing very special here.

Our server was very friendly, it was our first night in Amsterdam and he gave us a few tips about the city and just chatted with us for a bit before we headed out for the night. Great experience at Tomaz, would definitely recommend to others!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiGalLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tomaz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Tomaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing