We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No regret but happy !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“No regret but happy !”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We got here i think 3 weeks ago and were welcomed by very freidnly staff.
Location is perfect with a view of the canal. The room was quite small but good enough if considering the rate that the hotel is charging us.

The breakfast was more than I expected, really tasty ! They served drinks in the bar 24h, impressive ! (especially for yound traveller)
And only a short cab will take you to the red light district
So no complains and regret at all for this place.
Although i will advice to confirm the booking with them in advance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Listechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    203
    55
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
113
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hotel is about a 20 minute wall from the main square but right next door the van gough museum. Quite expensive place to stay but rooms are clean and nicely decked out with the music theme. The hotel has no lifts and the stairs are almost vertical!! Had a few problems when we first got there i.e the bed being broke, however they did change it (the next day!). Would stay a little bit closer to dam square next time but overall the hotel is fine for a few nights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davexr2i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We got to Amsterdam late and had to take this hotel. Room was very interesting but bathroom plumbing stunk. Must have had a vent problem. The room was expensive but comfortable. Narrow (typical for the city) winding stairs that simply wore us out going up and down. Staff was very helpful. Only stayed one night but it served its purpose. Not a bad experience but stay was too short to provide a detailed review.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We came to Amsterdam with friends to party for 3 days. Backstage was the best place to stay! it was really well priced, the rooms were fun, clean, and newly done up. We loved the sense of fun at Backstage, the entire hotel is designed to look and feel like you are backstage, the lighting the red walls the drum kit all added to the novelty of the hotel. We definitely had rockstar moments!
The other thing we were very impressed with were the staff, anything was possible, they were great and so helpful, nothing was a problem, they were full of excellent advice from local gigs to the best breakfast around the corner.
If you want something a bit different stay at Backstage, we will be going back again! great hotel!! Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekes82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed for one whole year here whilst working under contract nearby and the owner and his staff could not have done more to assist and serve me well from the very start.

There was never once a time I felt overlooked or ignored. The building is smart and also kept very clean. Any problem was resolved quickly. When I needed sleep and there was noise outside they offered earplugs ! The jazz and popular music theme is great fun.

I would always stay here whenever possible.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris/Boston
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Clean rooms, friendly staff, Guitar Hero and pool in the open area (not to mention the bar...) and nice to children. My two thought the room was super cool, my aspiring actress (11 years old) loved the lighted mirror. We walked to the Anne Frank House and several parks and restaurants. The transport is very close, and even though it was a holiday weekend, we had no trouble with noise or other guests. It was the kind of place I would liked to have stayed in my 20's, and it was also great for me at 45 with 2 kids (and don't worry, we only played pool and guitar hero in the late afternoon/early evening, so older guests don't have to hang out with children. Canal views, safe feeling. And did I say CLEAN? Our room was great! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof2Paris_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2010

This place was class. The staff were great, amazingly friendly and helped out in anyway possible. Great location, close to some beautiful sites and only 15mins walk to Dam Square. I would recommend this place to anyone who is up for partyin hard and taking in Amsterdams beautiful scenery!

MUCH LOVE,

Rosco x

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosco2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#79 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#36 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#87 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#110 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#135 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#47 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing