We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel In Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
1 review
“Best Hotel In Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Backstage Hotel and it was awesome!!!!!
I will never stay anywhere else when in Amsterdam.
We had a 4 person suite that was the envy of all our friends staying at other hotels in the area. It was HUGE compared to other rooms I have stayed in whilst traveling in Amsterdam. Our room also had an xbox360 with guitar hero and dj hero hooked up to one of the two flat screens. The beds where very comfortable and the hotel was always clean.
The staff was incredible and such very friendly people. They really helped make our experience such a good one. I can't wait to get back .
Thank you Backstage Hotel for everything.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBeefy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    200
    54
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
112
50
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Far corner of Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

The staff here were really friendly and helpful. We managed to lock ourselves out of our room and they dealt with it straight away. On our second day the hot water in our room went off, it turned out to be a problem with the pressure in the street and without any fuss they opened up another room for us to use the shower. On the last day they also let us leave our luggage there after we had checked out and nothing went missing - always a bonus!
I stayed here for 2 nights with my boyfriend and another couple in a quadruple room on the 4th floor - there is no lift but after the first climb you don't notice it and there was a nice view of the canal when you got there. From what I could tell, all the rooms would have views onto the street and canal as the hotel is on the corner. The room was really funky and looks exactly like it does in the pictures on the website!
The staff pointed is in the direction of a mini supermarket and it was exactly as they said, a few minutes round the corner. There are bars a few hundred metres away open till 2-3am but there is no noise or disruption at the hotel as there weren't rowdy but more chilled with many friendly locals. The central station is about a 25-30 min walk but the trams go everywhere and you can get one 500m or so from the hotel. There is a square close by the tram stop with pubs and food places, when we were there an outdoor mini ice rink was also open.
Best = the cool, clean rooms with nice views in a good location for the price.
Worst = The hotel hadn't been around that long when we stayed there so it's full potential of bustling residents hadn't been reached - good excuse to go again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bint86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Funky place stayed for a gig at the Paradiso, I would only stay with an ensuite room, not keen on sharing facilities, however our room was nice and beds were comfy room warm but freezing in the ensuite, but then it is winter.
Staff very nice and friendly, helpful even when we checked out making sure our flight was not delayed. Also gave info on getting back to the airport rather than getting a tram and train, get the bus from outside the American hotel straight to the Airport for 3 euros each and it takes about 25/30 min. Cheaper and less hassle. Really enjoyed my stay and would go again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

This hotel is aimed at bands passing through Amsterdam but even if you are not in a band its still a great place to stay. I have stayed in every flea infested band hotels all over Europe so i never expected this!! All the rooms are made up of musical bits and pices like a snare drum light shade, flight case bed and wardrobes, drum stools for seat's. plus the rooms all have plasma t.v's and ipod docking stations!. the bar stays open all nite which was a plus, th only problem being that they kept running out of ice. The breakfast in the morning was great, everything you could want was laid out befour you. I cannot recommend this place highly enough!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2009

There's little bad to say about this place. Every review talks about the nightmare stairs, but the amazing rooms and buffet breakfast definitely make up for it. The location is great as well. All I could say is that it's a bit expensive, and I don't know if I'd spend that kind of money again. If you're not on a tight budget, do it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2009

Born and raised in Amsterdam but now living abroad I know where one should be to able to make the most of even a short stay in this great city. From Backstage Hotel anything you would like to see is in a walking distance. The Leidseplein (with things to do day and night), the Vondelpark, streets to shop, museums, the canals with houses of many centuries ago, architecture and much more. But also stations for trams and busses wich can take you to other neighbourhoods of the city. Also, from the airport busses go regularly to take you to the Leidseplein (5 minutes from Backstage) in about half an hour. The hotel itself is great, nice people, quiet surroundings (yes one will hear people walking by, the tram etc. but that's part of 'living' the city. Hope you will have as much of a nice time as I had!!
(Για τους Έλληνες, είμαι Ολλανδέζα από το Άμστερνταμ αλλά μένω στην Κρήτη. Το Backstage είναι πολλή καλή επιλογή όταν θέλεις να ζείς λίγο την κουλτούρα της πολής!)
Andrea (age, 44)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville,tn.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

We were treated to very nice service at all hours of the night.And yes the bar is open 24hrs!
The breakfast was more than I expected and there is a nice nook with a view of the canal.
Its a great location as far as sightseeing,shopping and nightlife.The red light district and train station are only a short cab or trolly ride away.
Ask for Hans.He gave us a great rate.
Thanks again Backstage.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9999Nashville_tn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#81 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#79 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#41 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing