We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun stay. Great, friendly staff! Clean room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #125 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun stay. Great, friendly staff! Clean room”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Easy to find. Very friendly and helpful staff. We travelled with our 1 yr old and they were very accomodating. The bathroom was the only neg. It was shared. The toilet was one tiny room and the shower was a different room down the hall. Beware of door being unlocked but someone being in the shower. It was clean though.
There wasn't air conditioning at the time we went but nights got fairly cool.
The bedroom was clean. Hotel was pretty quiet except for our crying baby-oops!
(We were the only ones staying with a child.)
The location was awesome -rent bikes! You will definitely want to tour with bikes.
The internet use was great to stay in touch with our family.
Overall this hotel was a great fit and mid-budget for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    203
    55
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
113
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa - Portugal
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This is the most amazing hostel i've been.
Me and 4 friends stayed in a room of 5 and it had the best beds. Space enought for what we expected, we all loved the decor, the heiniken welcome pack, the view from our window to the canal... Only the stairs were quite a challenge when we return at late hours. But we recommend this place to everyone, great location, not in the center and therefore quite but close to one of the main nightlife places. The staff are 5 stars, really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainSpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Traveling in Europe with 3 boys, all over 6', and with huge appetites can be expensive! This place was a great find! We were all able to sleep in ONE room, we all had beds and there was still pace to walk in the room!

Musical stuff every where -- very fun!

Staff was super and very helpful.

Located on a canal and within walking distance to various kinds of transportation.

Breakfast had a great variety and filled the boys.

Parking was located a bit away, but my husband and son were given bicycles that they rode back to the hotel. It was a positive experience for them.

Over all a great place to stay!

Only negative -- this is supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel, but I think there was people smoking in their rooms because we could smell it, we just couldn't pin point the location. It would be nice if the staff were more vigilant where this is concerned.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the backstage for a weekend in Amsterdam and the location is excellent. Its right next to Leideseplein, and you can reach the clubs and museums within mins. The staff was helpful, and use of the computer was free in the lobby. The bathrooms were shared, which is annoying, but the twin room was a good size with a flat screen tv.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roczberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I stayed at the Backstage with two friends to celebrate our 40th birthdays, we are all mums travelling on a budget who expect a nice clean room and bedding, we got that plus more. the staff were great, very friendly and helpful, and the rooms and rest of the hotel were perfectly clean, and a brilliant central position.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 40isgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

My wife and I booked a three nights stay here in June, and we booked it on the strength of the room style. The instructions on how to get to the hotel from the airport were very good, and the hotel is located very close to the Leidseplein.

The hotel itself is a very typical Dutch house in Amsterdam, tall and narrow. Check in was very easy, as most people in Amsterdam speak very good English, and we were given a room on the 4th floor. The only bad thing about this is that there is no lift at the hotel and the stairs are narrow and steep, so it is not a good prospect for those who struggle with heavy luggage.

The decor of the room is superb, everything from the drum kit light, to the drummer chair, and rockstar table with lights. Not only that, but there is an iPod radio alarm clock in the room, and all rooms have free Wi-Fi access (just ask for the login details at reception). The room itself is not that big, but if you are only using it for sleeping before seeing and partaking in the sights of Amsterdam then it is quite good.

This is a hotel that my wife and I would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in a modern, yet different hotel, in Amsterdam in a quality location.

  • Liked — The decor of the room
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Smoolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#78 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#85 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#107 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#137 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#46 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BackStage Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackStage Hotel Amsterdam

Property: BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Leidsegracht 114, 1016 CT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BackStage Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BackStage Hotel Amsterdam is a small hotel next to the venues Paradiso and Melkweg, next to the Leidseplein. All rooms offer LCD TV, Alarmclock radio, I-pod dock, Free WIFI and FlightCase Furniture. The hotel is staffed 24/7. We do not have an elevator. Specialties for musicians on the road. @ the bar you'll find a pool table and instruments which you can play on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your BackStage Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing